We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early bird/happy hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 295 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great early bird/happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Was delighted to find a local spot that offered happy hour on the weekend! Awesome fish tacos, and family enjoyed the early bird menu. We'll be back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    291
    114
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great good and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a great dinner here this week. We started with specialty drinks from the bar and they were so delicious. Our dinners were all very good. Our server was fantastic. She was so friendly and prompt with things.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After going to Hilton Head for years, this was our first visit at the Black Marlin. We went at the suggestion of my daughter, who had been there for Sunday brunch and raved about the food.
I wouldn't rave about our dinners, but the food was very good, the service was good, and the location overlooking the sound was very nice. This is a good place to go if you're looking for a restaurant that has a nice beach atmosphere with good food. Plus, it's location beside the Palmetto Bay Marina is a away from the "maddening crowds" of summer in Hilton Head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stop while we were on vacation. The wait time was not bad. The service was great and the food excellent! Would highly recommend to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Black Marlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have been to the Black Marlin several times when visiting Hilton Head over the past few years. We are always very pleased with the food and the service. Our most recent visit showed just how professional they are. The patio tables were full and we were going to be seated on the patio soon. A torrential rain/wind storm suddenly hit the area and the staff were helping all the patio guests grab their food and drink and get inside. They were able to accommodate everyone faster than I could have expected, and we were seated inside in a very reasonable amount of time. We could have gone somewhere else, but we REALLY like the Black Marlin. The staff was wonderful and our server, Devon, couldn't have been better. She was really delightful and professional. The service was excellent, the food was excellent and we were so glad that we waited. Can't wait to go back on our next trip to Hilton Head.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.