We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Marlin Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Salem, Virginia
1 review
“Black Marlin Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family of 10 wanted to try a great seafood restaurant while on vacation and we were definitely not disappointed. Between all of us we had 9 different meals and everyone of them was absolutely delicious. We had no wait time on our table, our drink order was taken promptly. Our waitress was Lissy and she was fabulous - she was very cheerful and attentive to all our requests. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    264
    102
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food was pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not my best meal during my week long vacation. The broiled seafood platter was over done but everyone else in our 7 person party really enjoyed their meal.

Reasonably priced and a great selection.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food exceptional service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We came here after long waits at other restaurants - seated within 20 mins and had an outstanding server - Brett was entertaining, engaging and informative - made the experience down right FUN! Our group had a variety of dishes from fried oysters to seared scallops to Cajun shrimp to low
Country boil - all was yummy! Brett recommended the poblano sour cream when I asked
For SC for the quesadilla and it MADE it! I recommend they add a dollop as the standard. We will be back and will insist on Brett!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Choice in Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went to Black Marlin specifically for the sushi nachos and the chicken livers and they did not disappoint. The low-country boil was also very good and very filling. The service was excellent and the manager even came to our table to make sure everything was going well. My only complaint is that although the patio is nice, it was very noisy. The patio area is shared by a few restaurants and therefore very busy. However, it was all worth it for great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

You can arrive by boat (at Palmetto Bay Marina, as we did recently) or by bicycle or by auto. The menu and food prep is first class, primarily featuring seafood. Our recent group of eight arrived around noon for Saturday brunch and were promptly seated in the pleasant outdoor dining area.
Some of us had adult beverages. We had several different brunch features and everyone was very happy. We have dined inside and outside for lunch and dinner on several occasions and we've never been disappointed. The Black Marlin is part of the local SERG group, and these guys do a great job at all of their restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.