We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 321 restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
hilton head
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you are looking for shellfish on Hilton Head...go to Black Marlin. There steaks are also excellent. The servers and bartenders are all very friendly and helpful in selecting from their broad menu. Lissy was especially good at helping us select a bottle of wine to partner well with our seafood entrée. $$

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    386
    195
    78
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pooler, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very tasty eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The food here was very good. I had a pasta of sorts with veggies and my son had a bowl of steamed veggies only. Everything came in good time and the food tasted fresh and hot when delivered. Nothing was too much or too little. The place itself is divided in different parts as you walk in and the wing we walked into had a view of the marina outside and the outside seating. It was still early in the day so not a lot of people eating. The staff was very kid friendly and even took my son utside to see the fountain for a little.
Will go back for sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have spent the last four February's in Hilton Head and have been to the Black Marlin many times. The seafood is always wonderful. Lunch, dinner or brunch. Fish tacos, broiled fish platter, salads....it's always good. Wait staff is attentive. VIP coupons just make it all that sweeter ( Dec.,Jan. and Feb. only)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Low key; good service; relaxing; nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Thanks to TripAdvisor reviewers and my brother, we ended up here for our first dinner in Hilton Head. We were seated immediately (off season) and felt very at home and happy with our choice. The wait staff was attentive. The sound level was great. The place was fairly busy but we could converse with no trouble.

We both had seafood, and it was well-prepared and delicious. I had their house margarita. Yum!

Would definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I rarely get a day off together. We decided we would have a little date lunch/brunch. First off our server was excellent. Amy was very friendly and did not rush us at all. (We were very indecisive) The food was excellent as well. Lettuce wraps, Frogmore Pho, Fish tacos, and not to mention a build your own bloody mary bar! Who could pass that up? Something for everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.