We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and wait staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 324 restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a favorite of ours when we go to Hilton Head (which is often)! The seafood is some of the best we have ever had! The fresh sea scallops and grouper is melt in your mouth wonderful! The seafood chowder is to die for! There is not one thing on the menu that isn't prepared in the most perfect way! The wait staff is friendly and helpful and Southern charm is the motto here! It is a pleasure to go and in the summer you can eat out on the patio by the marina! Superb in every way! The Martins from Greenville, SC

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    394
    200
    79
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place For Outdoor Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second time enjoying dinner here in the past year, both times we chose to sit outdoors. We're from NH so we thoroughly enjoy the chance to eat outside whenever we're in Hilton Head. The food is great (loved the fish tacos), the drinks were very good and again can't beat the outdoor seating. And the waitstaff have always done a great job. We're already planning another trip to our home away from home and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We've been to the Black Marlin twice. The food is great! Servers are very polite, fun, and knowledgeable about the menu. We will definetly go back. If you're starving, have a snack before you leave because there is a pretty long wait, usually.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Great Food Matched by Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went out to celebrate her birthday. we decided to go to the Black Marlin. The food was excellent and the service provided by Will, our server, was attentive and first rate in every respect. Although, the restaurant was entertaining a large group in the bar, it had no effect on the timeliness of our service. We will be back soon and ask for one of Will's tables.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top seafood meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Black Marlin was excellent! One of the top 3 seafood meals I've had. The fish was fresh and moist. Great kids menu. Service was great! Free parking. A must when on HHI.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.