We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For Outdoor Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place For Outdoor Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second time enjoying dinner here in the past year, both times we chose to sit outdoors. We're from NH so we thoroughly enjoy the chance to eat outside whenever we're in Hilton Head. The food is great (loved the fish tacos), the drinks were very good and again can't beat the outdoor seating. And the waitstaff have always done a great job. We're already planning another trip to our home away from home and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    264
    102
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We've been to the Black Marlin twice. The food is great! Servers are very polite, fun, and knowledgeable about the menu. We will definetly go back. If you're starving, have a snack before you leave because there is a pretty long wait, usually.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Great Food Matched by Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went out to celebrate her birthday. we decided to go to the Black Marlin. The food was excellent and the service provided by Will, our server, was attentive and first rate in every respect. Although, the restaurant was entertaining a large group in the bar, it had no effect on the timeliness of our service. We will be back soon and ask for one of Will's tables.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Top seafood meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Black Marlin was excellent! One of the top 3 seafood meals I've had. The fish was fresh and moist. Great kids menu. Service was great! Free parking. A must when on HHI.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our group found this restaurant and discovered that in January they have an early bird dinner plus a coupon book for discount. Even without these choices we would have enjoyed this property. Plus happy hour at the bar with $2 off bar drinks.

It was cold and rainy so being outdoors was not an option but they had a wonderful bar and seating area for warmer weather which would be great called the Hurricane Bar.

Staff was accommodating and professional, food was very good and we enjoyed our experience very much. Since I am not especially fond of sea food and my group was, I wondered if the beef would be satisfactory. I had a taste for the sirloin steak which was very tasty with a fresh baked potato and vegetable. Not disappointed. The Crab Cakes were not a hit with another friend, so can't recommend them.

Great setting with a varied menu for everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.