We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Bird” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 295 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early Bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always have a very good meal there. Their early bird menu is very good with several good choices. The price is good and we have their VIP booklet that gives an additional 50% off your second meal (January and February only). How can you go wrong! It includes a soft drink, soup or salad and entree.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    291
    114
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The main event of the evening was the pursuit of crab cakes! We settled on the Black Marlin. I asked the waitress if the crab cakes had lumps of crabs meat. She said they did, so I ordered them.

Worst & most expensive ($25) crab cakes I ever eaten. They tasted like tiny dried up salmon patties. No identifiable chunks of crab meat. My date ordered the fried seafood platter. Another food miss! It is unlike us to not eat or food or ask for take home boxes.

Skip the Black Marlin...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“New Years Eve Date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the first time we had eaten at The Black Marlin Bayside Grill. We had reservations and we're promptly seated. Our waitress was excellent and advised us we'll. We shared the crab cake appetizer-excellent. Had the seafood chowder-also excellent, Ii had the scallops and my husband had the trout, both excellent. The service was excellent! What a great way yo end the year!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Places to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Always good service and delicious food. The cocktails are great too. Fresh local seafood, prepared fresh and always tasty. Highly recommended for dinner.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited the Black Marlin on the waterfront next to the ferry landing. We had a very nice table and view of the courtyard. Our waiter was very prompt and courteous. The food was very tasty and plentiful. I had the low country boil and my wife had the flounder. The pricing was reasonable and we received a good value for our money. Our manager TJ was very friendly and welcomed us to the restaurant and thanked us when we left. All in all it was a very relaxing experience. We will visit this location again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.