We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The main event of the evening was the pursuit of crab cakes! We settled on the Black Marlin. I asked the waitress if the crab cakes had lumps of crabs meat. She said they did, so I ordered them.

Worst & most expensive ($25) crab cakes I ever eaten. They tasted like tiny dried up salmon patties. No identifiable chunks of crab meat. My date ordered the fried seafood platter. Another food miss! It is unlike us to not eat or food or ask for take home boxes.

Skip the Black Marlin...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    224
    89
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Years Eve Date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the first time we had eaten at The Black Marlin Bayside Grill. We had reservations and we're promptly seated. Our waitress was excellent and advised us we'll. We shared the crab cake appetizer-excellent. Had the seafood chowder-also excellent, Ii had the scallops and my husband had the trout, both excellent. The service was excellent! What a great way yo end the year!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Places to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Always good service and delicious food. The cocktails are great too. Fresh local seafood, prepared fresh and always tasty. Highly recommended for dinner.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited the Black Marlin on the waterfront next to the ferry landing. We had a very nice table and view of the courtyard. Our waiter was very prompt and courteous. The food was very tasty and plentiful. I had the low country boil and my wife had the flounder. The pricing was reasonable and we received a good value for our money. Our manager TJ was very friendly and welcomed us to the restaurant and thanked us when we left. All in all it was a very relaxing experience. We will visit this location again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An island delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The seafood chowder and the seafood pasta Alfredo are excellent. There were 9 in our party an we all had a great experience. Steak, flounder and salads were great and the desserts were awesome. Will was our server and he did a very good job. A return trip is in order.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.