We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
“Nice view, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The view is very nice, service is fair, but the food is not to good, the restaurant is very quiet, maybe is off season. Only us and 3 table. I will try one more time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    224
    89
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific Sunday brunch on the patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Our first meal at the Black Marlin was a very pleasant affair. We started with tasty Bloody Mary's, and asked our friendly server to set up a bottle of white wine in a bucket, which was a fairly priced Sauvignon Blanc. I had an open faced egg and ham sandwich with white cheddar hash browns, my companion the Deli Club Melt with fries. Both meals were excellent and helpings were generous. Our service was warm and very professional, and the meal was enhanced by the view and comfortable outdoor setting. We will be back for sure.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is without doubt our favorite seafood restaurant on Hilton Head Island! It has very good atmosphere, both in and outside, and the service and food is excellent. For lunch I had the shrimp-burger and sweet potato fries and my wife had a pick two combo, which was a cup of their wonderful seafood chowder and a salad. The waiter said he could eat the shrimp-burger every day for lunch! We eat lunch here once a week and have never been disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining! Great food and service! Early bird specials!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We ate here twice on our trip to HH. The first night it was just my husband and I. We had a great meal and good service that we decided to return the next night with our 3 kids and 2 of their friends. We ate outside both times and also got there in time both nights to enjoy the early bird specials. I would suggest the steak with the seafood dressing on top! It was delicious! The seafood chowder is great and the house dressing on the salad is wonderful! We will be back next time! This place was recomended to us by a local.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This restaurant is our favoite so far this week.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent food. Excellent service. Beautiful location for inside and outside seating. Great seafood. I also loved the bread. This is our favorite so far.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.