We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al Fresco Dining a Must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 315 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Charlotte
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Al Fresco Dining a Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A group of us went after a day at the beach and we were not disappointed! Great service and even better food. We dined outside on the patio but the fountain and it couldn't have been any better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    209
    87
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool place, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place just has a cool vibe. Every time we go to the Black Marlin we have a great time. The atmosphere is fun, the food is good, and the service is friendly. Our waitress Lissy was a complete gem. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delightful dining by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We always hit the Black Marlin when we visit HHI, and it did not disappoint on this trip. Dining outdoors near the water is always enjoyable ... even more so with delicious food. We will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Jessie was our waitress and she had so much knowledge of the menu it made our decision to order very easy for us. We tried the Sheepshead fish tacos and fresh fish platter. Mine was blackened and served with a sweet pineapple, mandarin oranges, onion, and tomato salsa. The veggies were roasted corn, beans, and tomatoes. It was a great combination and I ate every bite. An exceptional meal and I would recommend to all. Sitting outside and looking at the Palmetto Bay Marina made this an enjoyable outing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveport, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere by the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here. The food was good. But really enjoyed the outside patio dining by the water.

Would definitely go back. A little hard to find if you don't know where you're going. In the bayside area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.