We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wonderful waitress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 300 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Jessie was our waitress and she had so much knowledge of the menu it made our decision to order very easy for us. We tried the Sheepshead fish tacos and fresh fish platter. Mine was blackened and served with a sweet pineapple, mandarin oranges, onion, and tomato salsa. The veggies were roasted corn, beans, and tomatoes. It was a great combination and I ate every bite. An exceptional meal and I would recommend to all. Sitting outside and looking at the Palmetto Bay Marina made this an enjoyable outing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    309
    127
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Groveport, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere by the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here. The food was good. But really enjoyed the outside patio dining by the water.

Would definitely go back. A little hard to find if you don't know where you're going. In the bayside area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Black Marlin was an enjoyable experience. The Happy Hour menu was excellent and a very good value. The outdoor bar area is a great place to spend the evening with your friends and family. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Hilton Head.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“slow!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

There was probably 20 of us for a brunch. The food was average. My niece didn't like her choice. The small water view from the deck was quite disappointing. The service was slow, and the two servers found it extremely difficult to hand out each check to the appropriate customer. It took nearly 30 mins to receive my check. It was a small simple task, as I dine in large groups frequently.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shark River Hills, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

No trip to HHI would be complete without a trip to the Black Marlin for brunch. The menu is full of delicious brunch treats. My favorite is the eggs benidict with a side of white cheddar hash browns.

Get there early as the patio fills up quick on a nice day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.