We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking your way to the beach?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Outfitters

Hilton Head Outfitters
80 Queens Folly Rd., Palmetto Dunes Resort, Hilton Head, SC
+1 877-567-6510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Attractions in Hilton Head
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilton Head Outfitters provides outdoor activities and fun-filled adventures, like biking, kayaking, canoeing, and fishing, that the whole family can enjoy. We are located inside Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and situated right on the banks of an 11 mile lagoon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Biking your way to the beach?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hilton Head Outfitters delivers bikes, locks and helmets to you at your address and picks them up. If you're staying at Palmetto Dunes, everyone gets around on bikes or takes the Dune buggy over to shelter cove. Cars are parked and used when leaving the property. Go to Groupon to get a 10percent off coupon.

Kayaking is not to be missed and can be done for 1hour and up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    34
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The most expensive bike rental on the Island”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Do yourself a favor and rent your bike from somewhere else. You pay for your ignorance if you rent here. I rented 4 Adult bikes from another rental company exactly like the ones Hilton Head Outfitters rents who dropped off and picked up my bikes in Palmetto Dunes for $40 cheaper.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Hilton Head Outfitters, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Hilton Head Outfitters. We regret that we did not exceed your expectations. Most of our guests do find that we have competitive pricing on the island for bike rentals that includes the delivery and pick up within Palmetto Dunes. We would like to find out more details about your visit so we can improve the overall experience for you and for all of our guests. Please give us a call at 843-785-2449 or email us at customersservice@palmettodunes.com and we will be in contact with you. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW,TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

They don't treat you like a tourist when you deal with them. Their staff actually seemed to enjoy dealing with us "visitors" which I guess we do pay their salary. Everything was explained straight forward, no hidden costs it just was what it was. All of our bikes were in great working order and we had a fantastic day riding around HH on them. Even if you aren't big on bikes, rent a trike. The trials aren't to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a great memorable day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked a 1/2 day tubing and skiing/knee board excursion and loved our Captain, Kevin. Highly recommend this organization. what a wonderful day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved our kayaking tour with Kevin! He was knowledgeable and friendly. Great for older kids- mine were a little young at 9 & 7.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilton Head Outfitters also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hilton Head Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.