We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Outfitters

Hilton Head Outfitters
80 Queens Folly Rd., Palmetto Dunes Resort, Hilton Head, SC
+1 877-567-6510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Attractions in Hilton Head
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilton Head Outfitters provides outdoor activities and fun-filled adventures, like biking, kayaking, canoeing, and fishing, that the whole family can enjoy. We are located inside Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort and situated right on the banks of an 11 mile lagoon.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Always find great flip flops, tanks, and hoodies at this little shop.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    34
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice bikes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We rented two adult bikes here and a trailer for our toddler. Nice staff and good equipment at a good price.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to rent bikes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Villamare in Palmetto Dunes, so Hilton Head Outfitters was a great place to rent our bikes for the week. The location was very convenient, and the owner of the condo had worked out a discount with the company. I've never seen so many bikes in one place! Bikes looked pretty new and well maintained, also came with bike locks. Staff was friendly and accommodating. They offered to pick up the bikes on our last day, which was very convenient. We noticed the bikes were already gone when we packed up at 9:00 am. HHI has great bike trails, beaches also have packed sand which is great for riding.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zellwood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good plack to get bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

visited the area and wanted to take a half day on bikes.found outfitters and they had great bikes,like new.highly reccommend,we were a bit late with the return and there was no extre charge!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Irresponsible and un-profesional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had 2 bikes for adults rented from Hilton Head Outfitters and 2 for kids rented in the resort. We had them all chained together. Today I called Outfitters to extended the rental and found out that they picked our bikes in the morning already. Never called us, nor told in advance that they pick up bikes in the morning. And we have rented them in the evening so the whole day was lost!
The worst thing was that Outfitters just unchained the other 2 kids bikes and left them. Naturally when I found out I checked and bikes were missing. For the company years in bike-rental business I don’t believe it is an overlook. Now we find ourselves without bikes that we have prepaid, lost a day on other 2 bikes, and seems we are responsible for missing bikes.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, General Manager at Hilton Head Outfitters, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
We are so sorry you had this experience with us at Hilton Head Outfitters! Can you please email us the details of your situation at palmettodunes@stepaheadinc.com because we would love to work with you to make this situation better.

Again we apologize and hope to hear from you soon!

-Bailey with Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilton Head Outfitters also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hilton Head Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.