We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in historic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Ochil

Hacienda Ochil
Carretera Uman-Uxmal, Abala 97825, Mexico
999 9247465
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Abala
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food in historic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Many haciendas in this part of the Yucutan have been restored to something like their former glory to attract tourists. This one is approached via the rails of what was once a henequen loading station. The main building has the usual handsome and indulgent spaces, some of which have been converted to museums and shops. The restaurant is a huge open area overlooking a very imaginative amphitheatre looming over a cenote. In our search for local specialities, we didn't make the best choices but the food was certainly cooked with care and skill and was very reasonably priced. It makes a good stop halfway along the Route Puuc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After the ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After our bus ride to the Uxmal Ruins our stop for Mayan fare was the Hacienda Ochil. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. As we walked around we were surprised to see iguanas posing for pictures (or it looked like that).
The restaurant itself was clean and full of open spaces. The staff was quiet and soft spoken and very polite. We sat with friends, talked, and enjoyed the vistas. We were uninterrupted but as we looked around for help our server was immediately available. Our food was brought to us quickly, though it seemed sparse, it hit the spot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet - selection of Yucatecan Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We drove out from our home in the extreme north of the city to go for Sunday lunch at Hacienda Ochil. It took us 60 minutes to get there, the roads were fairly empty and road signage was very good.

Sunday is buffet day. They charge $190 and offer a range of about 6 local dishes. Beer is extra, but the traditional drinks of horchata and jamaica are included in your price.

My wife is a local and she had relleno negro, tamal, cochinita pibil, poc chuc and salbutes. She gave her thumbs up to all these dishes, but did add extra salt to her cochinita (many locals go for plenty of salt in their cooking). I really enjoyed the cochinita and pollo pibil and thought the poc chuc was very good indeed. The tortillas are hand made.

They had a good range of desserts. Their local flan was disappointing, but the papaya in syrup with Edam cheese sprinkled on top was very tasty. For coffee they only have filter and it was a bit too strong for my taste.

The setting was very attractive. The tables are under a wooden roof and you are surrounded by wonderful views. The waiter service was also good. We paid in cash, but I assume they accept cards, too.

When visiting, you can use their pool before eating, or, as we did, take a stroll round the gardens and pop into their small museum to help digest the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A fun place to stop and have lunch on the way back from the Ruta Puuc. We had a wander 'round the place before eating and it looked like one could spend a bit of time here just to visit the Hacienda. We ordered Pok Chuc & beef Arrachera local dishes and both were great. The service was very good and the atmosphere was quite relaxing. A good place to stop & have a relaxing lunch after climbing all of those pyramids!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting choices in preserving the site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The place was once an hacienda henequenera, from the sisal boom of the late 1800s. It is now partially preserved and used as a restaurant. The food they served was typical Yucatan and it was quite good, but what was truly interesting to me was how they chose to preserve the site: they did not reconstruct it to make it look like a sparkling new place. Instead, they've sealed the finish on the walls and done minimal construction to maintain the genteel ruin feel. The casa de maquinas is viewable, and there is a small museum and shop. Makes for a unique experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Ochil also viewed

Been to Hacienda Ochil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Ochil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.