We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MI Tierrita

MI Tierrita
Hwy 17, Hardeeville, SC 29927
(843) 784-5011
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Hardeeville
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was really good and the price very reasonable. A real find along I 95. A very simple place but clean. If you have ever been to Mexico you'll feel at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The atmosphere is so so, but the food is top quality. Good sized portions, friendly fast service and the chips and salsa are even delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Va.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We discovered Mi Tierrita a couple years ago on one of our annual trips to Florida. It's near one of our stopover points along I-95 near the SC-GA border.

It seems like mostly a local restaurant, although folks at the motels we've stayed at all seem to know about it when we ask. It's pretty nondescript on the outside, and not particularly fancy either.

That's OK, in my mind, for the focus here is on the food. There's an extensive menu, plenty to choose from, lots of chef's specials, and many seafood options that my wife prefers. She's not a big fan of Mexican food in general but never hesitates to come here, so that says a lot to me.

We always go away with fully tummies and smiling faces, especially after paying the modest bills -- under $30 for two, with tip, a real bargain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you are ever in this area and like Mexican foods, be sure to try out this place. The atmosphere is "OK" but the foods are great! We always stop in this area on our way to and from FL. We always eat at this place. The Complimentary chips & salsa (made with fresh tomatoes, cilantro, etc.) is very good. The foods are always served quickly & hot. The prices are very reasonable. You will be in & out in under an hour. This time we had the pork burrito ($7) and the pork soft tacos ($8) with refried beans & rice. Their pork is the best, it has the crispy parts and tender. Either dish will fill you up. But if you have room for dessert, try the flan. They serve a buffet lunch for $6 but we have never tried it. We only been there for dinner. Amazingly the pizzas are also very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful mexican food above expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were just travelling through and the place isn't much to look at, but the food was terrific, quite reasonably priced also. All five of us thoroughly enjoyed our entrees. The salsa was so very fresh! They have fresh made red sangria that was a nice addition to the day. Servers were dedicated to actual service! What a nice treat to have just off the interstate. While we really wanted good food, they delivered everything incredibly quickly, so it didn't take long and we were back on the road. This was well above our expectations!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MI Tierrita also viewed

 

Been to MI Tierrita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MI Tierrita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.