We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good actually” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenwood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Birchtree Drive, Highway 25 and 178, Greenwood, SC 29649   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Greenwood
stockport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pretty good actually”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

this hotel is in one of the best locations for bars and food in the area. the pool outside is really nice clean and quiet, the rooms are clean good quality and comfortable. the staff are really nice Tracey checked us in and was super friendly and helpful sorting us out with king or king suite rooms which are reaasonably priced (good job *Tracey*). the breakfast in the morning could be a little better with more variety but is ok and inclusive of price. the fitness suite is pretty poor to be honest and needs improving. if this place had a bar it would be perfect but i suppose you can't have everything. overall excellent value for money.

Room Tip: go for the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm so happy to hear your stay was a great one! That is our goal!
Hurry back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
14
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very pleasant front desk & staff. Nice attractive grounds & typical clean rooms. Did have a peculiar,almost musty/moldy smell in hallways, but did see several dehumidifiers running in Hallways, so obviously management was aware & trying to address situation. Nice clean & well appointed rooms....nothing extremely fancy, but good for travelers. Morning breakfast was the typical, continental freebie, nothing special but again, area was very clean & the staff was typical southern friendly. Very cute & well decorated lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope you choose us again the next time you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked a room at this hotel even after reading unfavorable reviews. I travel very often so I am amused at some of the strong dissatisfaction aired publicly. This hotel is extremely acceptable for its classification and price. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is polite and accommodating. Complimentary breakfast. Let's be fair with reviews...one cannot compare this hotel to the Hilton or Hyatt...BUT....you're not paying that top dollar and they give you breakfast. It is very nice for the price and the staff is not in the big buck bracket in earnings!
Good grief...what do some people expect...the Taj Mahal for peanuts??? My ratings are based on the classification of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When arriving to my hotel Friday afternoon, there was a small line for check in. The front desk person was dealing with a situation, so I had to wait. The manager (I think) ended up checking me in and let me know that they had experienced flooding in their hotel. Luckily, I was put on the second floor, so no flooding would have effected my room. The room was spacious. The windows were older and needed cleaning, but the room on a whole had been updated. Flat screen TV, typical HIE bedding, and a nice couch adorned this room. What the suite did lack, strangely enough, was a desk, but there was a table set up with all the necessary equipment. The bathroom was tiny, but still clean. I had no problems with sleep, but my wake up call arrived about 10 minutes late. By this time, I had already awoken myself and ventured downstairs. Breakfast was typical with the warm cinnamon buns, cereal, milk, yogurt, and lots of bakery items to chose from. Although there had been flooding, the dining area did not seem effected. It was a good temperature, despite the mugginess of the hotel the night before. I would recommend this hotel but only if you upgrade to a suite. Being an older hotel, a suite gives you more room to move around even if you are by yourself. The staff was excellent and will try to accommodate you in any way possible.

Room Tip: Second Floor: Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks so much for the great feedback you gave us. If you stay with us again,our king rooms have desks. Our two queen bed rooms and suites have tables. They serve a dual purpose for a work area or a table to eat at. Maybe that will help you out more when you stay with us the next time. Also our breakfast items have to be our brand standard and we order within those guidelines. If there are items you would like to have, you can always make suggestions on the website. There maybe others that like your choice as well. If they get the same request, they may see about adding it. I'm happy to hear you had great service and enjoyed your stay with us! We take great pride in making our guests feel at home. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is one of the better hotels in Greenwood - which just experienced being flooded due to the heavy rains. The weekend we stayed the hotel was booked and they had attempted to clean the entire first floor that had been flooded due to the heavy rains.

The hotel staff - Tracey - was very professional and did the best she could to inform us of the options and appoligize for issues that were way out of her control.

Thank you Tracey - great employee.

The hotel beds were very clean - however after the flooding I feel that the hotel may have to take out all the carpet on the first floor. I am giving them an average in cleanliness only due to the wet carpets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel and staff. We did experience problems due to all the rain we had. We have taken care of the situation and did our best to keep our guests happy during this process. We hope you will come and visit us again! We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I hate to give a "poor" rating to this little HI Express because if you have read my reviews you know that I love an HI Express. So imagine my disappointment after booking a one night stay to be near a friend's lake house and booking the most expensive room available, a suite, to find the suite to be kind of gross. Two main issues: cockroaches and a boarded up ceiling over the shower. Seriously? Boarded up with boards. Not even painted. In a suite? The most impressive feature of this hotel was a really earnest front desk clerk who when there was a medical emergency in the lobby literally sprang into action to make sure the guest's needs were met. HI Express should be proud of that young lady.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I would like to appoligize for the issues you had during your stay with us. The bored up hole was an access hole for plumbing. We have painted and fixed up the celing. We get the entire hotel sprayed once a month for bugs and due to the tremendous amount of rain our area recieved we have called and taken care of the problem. Again, we are vey sorry for the issuse.

Thank You,
Christie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visit Greenwood often and this was my first overnight stay. I couldn't have been more pleased with the stay. It is a beautifu atmosphere and reception. Customer service was icing on the cake. Thanks for comforts of home.

Room Tip: Checked in at 3PM charp and got the room I reserved online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenwood

Address: 110 Birchtree Drive, Highway 25 and 178, Greenwood, SC 29649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Greenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay SMART at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. College is back in session which means you can attend some great football games. This is the perfect time of the year to enjoy the lake, play a round of golf or visit the historical sites.. Make your reservations early for parents' weekend, concerts and area festivals. This beautiful, 2 story, 70-room interior corridor hotel is located near mall shopping, the best restaurants in town, Lander University, public golf courses, two movie theaters and 6 miles from Lake Greenwood. Our guestrooms are designed to provide extraordinary comforts and amenities and include high speed Internet access, microwave ovens and refrigerators. Two phones and lines allow multiple calls at once. Our guests love the new Stay Smart showers. Our upscale lobby and breakfast area, are the perfect place to meet family, friends or business associates during your stay. The fitness center, business center and 30 person meeting room provide a smart place for special events.Whether visiting Greenwood for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is the SMART choice. Our hotel is surrounded by historic sites & museums and is convenient to Columbia, Anderson and Greenville. So come join us and our friendly staff will be glad to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood Hotel Greenwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.