We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4295 Augusta Road, I-85 @ Exit #46, Greenville, SC 29605 (Formerly Holiday Inn Greenville I-85 Augusta Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. I have no major complaints. The breakfast was delicious and the room was nice and clean. I was able to check in early and was still given a discount. I reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    10
See reviews for
7
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

On Thursday July 31, 2014....the city of Greenville condemmed this property. Due to rain, the ceilings caved in the electrical room and other areas (although, they were leaking before that) . Mold was found everywhere! Bugs...just read the reviews, they are SPOT ON! This hotel rents rooms out by the week etc...they had to tell folks to move...it is also located in a VERY BAD area of town, and the sewer treatment facility and Landfill for Greenville, is right behind the property...like, right behind it! (within a mile of the hotel!) Hence, the smell outside when the wind is blowing! The neighborhoods around there are heavily crime ridden.Take this advice from a Greenville local and native, Do not stay here....If heading North on 85, go up to the Woodruff Road or Pelham Rd
exit, or closer to GSP airport. If heading South on 85, go to the Anderson exit, Clemson BLVD. You will have more choices of better facilities. I-385 and Haywood Rd. (2-3 miles) off I-85, has a very nice selection ranging from Hilton, Hyatt and Marriott. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: I didn't stay here. This is a public service announcement for the general public that may not be...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Online is the only way this hotel would ever book rooms by business travelers or families.

The entire hotel stinks like cigarettes….even the non-smoking ones
The top of the desk in my room was covered with something sticky.

There was a coffee machine but no coffee pot…coffee was not a possibility. The carpet was not vacuumed and was covered with debris including the previous renters hair-pins. The few towels in the room were covered in holes and no Kleenex were present. The ceiling finish was peeling off in large sections, the caulking in the bathroom was brown and disgusting. It took 4 to 5 minutes to get hot water up to the fifth floor. The shower curtain rod was hung upside down and was pulled almost off the wall so the curtain would not stay put and the bathroom flooded. The bathroom walls had holes in 2 of 4 sides that were barely repaired. There are no do not disturb door hangers. The ice bucket smelled of rot.

The carpet in the corridors and the room was covered in stains. The elevator is covered with pocketknife carvings. Access panels in the elevator are lose and not secured. Cigarette butts littered the elevators and the hallways…they remained during my two-day stay and were never cleaned up. Upon arriving at 2:00 am, I stepped out of the elevator over booze bottles to a couple stating, “It’s out of town talent, they probably didn’t know where they were coming.”

In order to get Internet, I had to call down to the front office and they had to manually restart the computer modem. This did not work at all the second day. The television reception was pathetic and filled with static. Analog only. The parking lot in back had weeds growing through the asphalt. I did not even want to brave the pool or Jacuzzi.

I was lied to by the office help who said that there were only three smoking rooms left when I arrived early in the morning. When I complained, she found a non-smoking room. When I complained that the room she gave me was filled with cigarette smoke, she gave me another non-smoking room, that smelled somewhat less like cigarettes. The restaurant was closed because the rain had soaked right through the roof and had created a health hazard.

When I asked other employees when the owner let the property to go, they offered me a refund. No refund was possible because I paid for it on line. They said it had been a year since they lost their Holiday Inn franchise.

Why hotel owners feel it is ok to take peoples money and give them accommodations like this is unacceptable. This is theft of un-refundable purchases and should be punished as theft.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel most probably should be completely shut down. It is in very poor condition. The pool was green, the walls throughout the hotel were written on with gang type lingo, the hotel in general was not clean at all. In fact we did not stay over night. We decided that for the safety of my children we should get out as quickly as possible. The entire surroundings of the hotel are very sketchy.

Room Tip: The hotel in general was in extremely poor condition. For the life of me I cannot understand how the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

CANCEL YOUR RESERVATION NOW!!!!

This past weekend we had the displeasure of going to this sad state of a hotel. From visibly stained and soiled carpets to a stench that penetrated your clothes to roaches crawling about, this place was disgraceful. Filthy is too good a term to describe this place that needs to be demolished, especially since part of the roof caved in - thankfully after we rolled out!

The room pictures on the website are grossly misleading. While the "conference center" has been upgraded, once you pass the guest elevators it is all downhill from there. The elevator is a sin and a shame. Dirt has been around so long that it winks an eye at you everywhere you turn. And the bathrooms are disgusting. Outlets have no covers, the toilets are gross, the floors are grimy, and don't get me started on the towels!!!

You deserve better than this mess of an establishment. Take your hard earned money and don't even stop at the front door. Sleep in your car if push comes to shove. DO NOT LOWER YOUR QUALITY OF LIFE to stay one second in this dump!

Room Tip: "Do not stay here at all!" "Cancel your reservation now! "You will be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked this hotel for the first night of a special family trip. We area Choice Privilege members, so we have stayed at many Choice, Clarion, Comfort Inns in our time. We booked this through a third party, so we had already paid before we got there. However, it was truly like walking into the twilight zone.

Front desk clerk was on cell phone and had a friend visiting her on the job. No uniform. No other person helping her up front. She didn't know how to process our registration, since we were a "third party" reservation. She just took our phone number and said she'd ask her boss.

We walked through the hotel, which seemed to have been built as an upscale, conference center/hotel that had lasted well past its prime and not been cared for in many years. We realized we were in trouble when we got into the elevator and saw that the once darkly stained wooden interior had over time been carved into by many guests who seem to find that practice acceptable.

The hotel really seems to have been taken over by lawless types. I'm afraid to know what goes on there after dark. It also seems that the parent company has no connection to the hotel other than the Clarion name on the sign.

Stay away, if you value your life and health...and well-earned dollars.

P.S. If you're wondering if it's just me, my whole family asked why I took them to that nasty place! I feel tricked and ripped off.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This property does not match the standards of other Clarion Hotels. I encountered insects in my room, loud shouting in the parking lot overnight, and a place which was not consistently clean. At the most minimal breakfast, I did not encounter coffee. Guests have trashed portions of the inn. The pool and restaurant were closed. Music from The Ultra Bar & Lounge was profane and indecent. This is lodging to be avoided, especially if children are traveling with you. Di

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites

Address: 4295 Augusta Road, I-85 @ Exit #46, Greenville, SC 29605 (Formerly Holiday Inn Greenville I-85 Augusta Road)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn hotel in Greenville, South Carolina. We look forward to your arrival. Choosing a full service hotel is a great decision and the value is terrific. One stop, no more driving. Our restaurant and lounge are right here for you. Good food and cold drinks. If you need some down time, order room service, we deliver! Wireless Internet is throughout the hotel so go relax by our seasonal outdoor pool and take the laptop with you. Your exercise and laundry room are an elevator ride away. We know traveling is exhausting. Don't think of us as strangers, think of us as a new friend you will meet on this particular journey of your life. Holiday Inn has been a place for families, colleagues and friends to meet for over 50 years. We are proud to say we are part of this legend. Kemmons Wilson meant for the guests visiting his many 'homes' to feel welcome. And as the old saying goes, 'there's no place like home', there is really no place like Holiday Inn either. Is there something you need prior to your arrival? Just call us; we will do everything possible to fulfill your request. Love baseball, Broadway and scenery? Greenville’s Historic Downtown offers it all and is only 5 miles away. Catch a game at Flour Field or a show then stroll along the river walkway. Remember, we want you here and appreciate your business. So come, relax and enjoy our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Greenville i-85 Augusta Road Hotel Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.