We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peddler Steak House

Peddler Steak House
2000 Poinsett Hwy, Greenville, SC 29609
864-235-7192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great steak dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The three of us were happy with the prices and quality. Not over priced, which was a surprise! Lots of waiting areas, which is nice since the place was full and we waited an hour. They only take reservations for groups of 10 or more. The only change I would make is to add another bartender... They only had one guy working, which was not enough on a Saturday evening at 7pm, and he was clearly not able to handle the line if people. We waited in the line to the bar for 20 minutes just to place our drink order. Waiting an hour for a table is no problem, but standing in line for 20 mins to get a drink was a bit much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Place for Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Peddler filed quickly on a Saturday night and when we arrived at 5:45 we had a 40 minute wait. No problem, had a seat at the bar and enjoyed a few drinks (great Martini says my Dad).
I have eaten here several times and always get the King cut prime rib with the salad bar. The prime rib has been excellent every time, so I can not say I have tried many other dishes here. We like to sit by the windows and enjoy our dinner. Service has always been excellent. I will definitely be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Social Meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great salad bar!!! Best in the land. Just a little cold in the building as the outside temp. dropped a lot last night. Suppose to be getting to be spring time. Food was good I had salmon which was good, but everyone wanted to know why you would go to a steakhouse and have seafood.
I just really like salmon and I was told not to eat red meat. They have a basket of apples at the
front for you to take one on your way out. Something different.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have been by the restaurant several times during the last few months, noticed in the evening their parking lot is always full, thought we would give it a try.
We went on a Saturday, arrived around 4:30, the bar was open but we hostess told us they don't start seating in the dining area until 5:00; they put our name on a list.
Once they started seating everyone it went quickly. We were seated on the back porch area, it was alright nothing spectacular. Not much atmosphere or decor. They had a private party coming in later and we felt like they were in a hurry to get us out of the way and get the porch area ready for it.
Our filets were good but again not great. Salads you get from their salad bar which has a good variety of items; but it was crowded with not only customers but staff trying to get back and forth to the kitchen.
We may try it again at a later date, we were disappointed with our first experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Always seems to be busy, which is surprising. Used to be very good, but the last three times I have eaten there the steak has been of lesser quality than what you would find at a Texas Roadhouse type place, and at a price that is about 1/3 higher. The rustic appearance of the place used to be a drawing card, but now much of the place seems to be old and dated with an almost musty odor in some parts. Better values, and nicer places for the same price can easily be found in Greenville

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peddler Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peddler Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peddler Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.