We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful collection of fine art in Greenville...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery

Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery
1700 Wade Hampton Blvd, Greenville, SC 29614
+1 864-770-1331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 87 things to do in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful collection of fine art in Greenville...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I invited a friend to join me on a visit to this art museum yesterday. I called as we entered the campus and a sweet lady was happy to direct us to the museum. Unfortunately, we only allowed ourselves about 2 hours for our visit. We payed the reasonable admission fee ($5 per person, with another $5 for the audio guide which was very valuable) and started on our tour. The collection is amazing and we wandered through room after room of fine pieces from the Renaissance period. Our disappointment was that we only made it through about half of the collection before the museum closed at 5:00. They are only open from 2:00 to 5:00, and I would highly suggest you begin your visit as soon as they open if you want a chance at getting all the way through. It looked like they had a lovely gift store, but we chose to see as much art as we could rather than leave the exhibit early to visit the gift shop. There were staff located throughout the museum and all were friendly and helpful. This is a wonderful place to spend an afternoon (especially a hot one!) in Greenville!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

WOW talking about value. Great Artwork by renoun Artist and well laid out you can go at your own pace and quality Cristian venue. I am proud to give this review have gone back to show my friends and family

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Living Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The entire experience was A-One! Top Notch. We went for their special event of Living Art and was completely enthralled with the entire program and how extremely professional it was! Parking was a concern for me but it was a piece of cake! The fact that with the paid ticket for the even you can also go into their galleries is just wonderful. The Staff of young people were very courteous and helpful. Already looking forward to their next event and will not have any reservation in getting it booked. My only question is: What took me so long to find this fabulous gem in our own backyard!"

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great time with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Museum and Gallery were fun to visit, but Living Gallery play was excellent, wonderful way to spend time at Easter time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An amazing collection of religious art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This small gallery comprises representative examples of some of the finest religious art in the area (and, lest the word "religious" seem too limiting, consider that it has been a subject of most artists until the 20th Century. Unlike most such collections, which have minor works by major artists, this one focuses on major works by lesser-known names (although, truth be told, its small Rembrandt was thought good enough by the Louvre to be borrowed for a special show, and its Tiffany mosaic is one of the best around). I have brought friends familiar with the Hermitage, the Rijksmuseum and the Prado, and all left visibly impressed. Don't miss the works by Cranach, Tiepolo, Dolci, and Dore, as well a fine piece from the Botticelli studios. If possible, plan several shorter (1 to 2 hour) visits rather than one long one. It can be overwhelming, if one really cares about art.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.