We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, accessible, religious art gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery

Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery
1700 Wade Hampton Blvd, Greenville, SC 29614
+1 864-770-1331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Attractions in Greenville
Type: Educational Sites, Museums
Attraction details
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, accessible, religious art gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful way to introduce your children (or yourself!) to fine religious art! This gallery is well organized and displayed. The staff is VERY friendly, contrary to what one reviewer mentioned here. I have arranged 6 or 7 tours with groups of home schooled children to see this fine collection and have been extremely impressed with the presentation of the material and just how accessible the docents make the art to the students. Yes, there is a dress code on the campus. Our students all dressed neatly, though not in dresses and jackets. It was a pleasure to take children (ages 6-15) on a university campus and have no need to apologize for or explain anything they might see. One more comment, the price is extremely reasonable.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    15
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you ever wonder where all the timeless art is in this world....Believe you me, I couldn't believe my eyes..such masterpieces they have at the museum

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“lots of art, all religious (just so you know)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Well, it's more quantity than quality, but the collection, as a collection, is pretty impressive. A lot of it looks like stuff nobody else wanted and the whole is better than its parts, but it's interesting. The display space is nice, if a bit crowded. To me, worth seeing but maybe not repeating.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much more than I had expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've been living in Greenville, SC for almost a year, and had heard from many that we need to visit the Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery. Having lived in Spain for twelve years, and visited Florence, Italy, I really wasn't expecting to be very impressed by a small museum in Greenville. Wow! was I surprised! Their collection of religious art really does rival many collections that I have seen! With original Botticelli, Rembrandt, Zurburan, and so many others, we will need another visit to truly do justice to the collection. The works are exhibited very well, themed according to country, style, and time period. The museum is located on the campus of Bob Jones University. Parking is free, and entrance fee is very reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Recently we visited Greenville, SC and, as part of the visit, we went to Bob Jones University and visited the Museum & Gallery. The attraction is easily accessed off a main thorofare in town and the museum has its own dedicated parking. The collection of religious paintings is most impressive and beautifully displayed in period mode with some rooms decorated with period architectural motifs and furniture. The University can be justly proud of their collection and the facility in which it is displayed. The student staff is courteous and numerous. We would recommend a visit to anyone who values the work of the Masters. The displays are divided into countries of origin and easy to follow. Do remember to hold onto your plan of the display rooms to keep track and to find your way to the rest rooms or to the exit. In reality there is always a staff member available to help you with any information you might need.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Jones University Museum & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.