We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dad and son...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
499 Congaree Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2709
+1 864-284-6256
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #538 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Easley, South Carolina
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
“Dad and son...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Took the youngest son here recently when wife and 2 oldest sons were out of town on a church trip.

Our order was taken promptly. Food came out quickly (even though it was a Friday night and the place was very busy). My double was hot and prepared just like I ordered it. Little one's burger was so good that he wanted another one. The fries delicious and hot to the touch....like really good fries should be served. Instead of another burger, we ordered chocolate milkshakes to go. And they were great.

Don't understand all the disgruntled comments on this location. We love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great late night spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ate here after a concert at the Bi-Lo Center. I ususlly order the same thing when I eat at this chain and it usually doesn't disappoint. I ordered a double with cheese and fries. And the sweet tea is very sweet.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not up to S&S standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have enjoyed other Steak & Shakes many times while in Florida. Unfortunately this one strays far from the standards of the company. It was like a different restaurant entirely. When I am served my food, I want it hot right off the griddle. I think ours sat on the counter too long before it was served. The burgers and fries were just above room temperature, and the food was sloppily assembled on the plates, like someone might have already been served them. Service was slow and discourteous. Go across the street to Five Guys instead.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good representative of this chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was a good experience. We apparently got there right after a bunch of other guests all at once, so there was a backlog of orders. The waitress was extremely apologetic (of course it wasn't her fault). The food was worth the wait. We tried a few of their newer sandwiches, and of course their shakes never disappoint. It would've been nice to get a small price break because of the long wait, but it wasn't that important.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Real Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've eaten at Steak 'n Shake for over 35 years - several different restaurants. The biggest problem is deciding between a double steakburger and one of the varieties of Chile, such as Chile Five Ways. Good shakes too. Nice, clean '50's interior.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.