We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike & Jeff's BBQ Diner

Mike & Jeff's BBQ Diner
2401 Old Buncombe Rd, Greenville, SC 29609-4325
864-271-5225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Zirconia, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Decided to go there after a friend recommended. Small BBQ restaurant but great folks working there. The BBQ, which is what we came for was moist and perfectly smoked. The sides are very good especially the collard greens and the hush puppies, which is a prerequisite for me. Great selection of food not just BBQ.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Greenville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We love to come to Mike and Jeff's. My husband tried to get me to go there for a few years and I was not sure about the place. I LOVE it!! The owner is very friendly and makes you feel valued as a customer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Mike and Jeff's is the real deal. By far the best pulled pork barbecue I've ever had. The servings are generous, the sauces savory, the prices reasonable, and the servers and cooks super nice! It is a really small joint but they know what they are doing. Come hungry! Like I said, the pulled pork is spectacular, but the ribs are also stellar as well, as well as lots of sides like fries, hushpuppies, etc. Not a huge fan of their cole slaw but that is a very subjective dish that is done differently wherever you go, so others may like it better. If you are in Greenville and in any way like BBQ, you HAVE to try it out. It is a little out of the way (about 15 minutes from downtown) but definitely worth the trip. A culinary highlight of Greenville (which is really saying something - there is no shortage of great restaurants in this city)!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the state!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were visiting Greenville, SC for a wedding, a few weeks ago. When asked where to get good BBQ, Mike and Jeff's was where we were pointed. It's a small place (which usually lets us know it's gonna be good), the smell from the parking lot was amazing. Inside there are just a few tables, but enough room for 12 of us to eat together. We had beef ribs and pulled pork. Let me tell you, they were the best, bar none. You can tell the amount of time they have been smoking. The sides complimented the meat perfectly. The women running the place were so friendly, we wanted to take them home with us! They never let our iced tea glasses run low. Mike and Jeff's is very casual, but you will have the best tasting BBQ and smoked ribs you can ask for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
872 reviews 872 reviews
750 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 331 cities Reviews in 331 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“True hickory flavor !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is some of the best pulled pork I have had in a while. Nothing fancy about the place - just good food. Definitely get the sweet potato side. The slaw as average. Oh - I had the ribs too - also excellent flavor. Nice service. Great place for bbq.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike & Jeff's BBQ Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mike & Jeff's BBQ Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike & Jeff's BBQ Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.