We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to eat in Greenville.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
1 Augusta St, Ste 202, Greenville, SC 29601-3584
864-232-9091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Greenville.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We love going to downtown Greenville to shop and this is a don't miss place to eat. The food is always good and the service excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    177
    43
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good but not great barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it's because I had heard this place was amazing, but it ended up being pretty underwhelming.

The food is good, but not great. The BBQ sauce options they bring are all just okay.

Service was really good and the spinach casserole was great, but all of the other food was nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Check out the 'sides!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a great outdoor dining experience here. The meat and fish entrees are tasty but the sides are the bell ringer! As other reviewers commented our server was excellent. The prices are reasonable. The restaurant is located in the popular downtown area with numerous choices for dining and entertainment. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a Hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We go to Smoke on the Water about once a month, and always have a good experience. No matter what I order, it is always delicious. The prime rib is amazing. Add a side of stuffing and mac and cheese, and you have the perfect meal. The Jack Daniel's chocolate chip pecan pie is also delicious. The ribs are always full of flavor and falling off the bone. Our server is always very nice and knowledgable about the menu. The staff is always quick to make any wrong right. The house made sauces are delicious as well. I would reccomment Smoke on the Water to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I moved to the Greenville area two weeks ago, and we've been to this restaurant twice for lunch and dinner. The food has been consistently excellent, and it's refreshing to have wait staff that know the menu intimately. If you visit, the nachos are unusual and out of this world, the trio sandwiches (pulled pork, beef brisket, and pimento cheese burger minis) will make you crave for more, the fried catfish is perfectly done in a panko coating, and the squash casserole is to-die for. One of the managers graciously gave me the casserole recipe to take home. We will definitely be returning patrons!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke On The Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.