We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping restaurant with entertainment and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
1 Augusta St, Ste 202, Greenville, SC 29601-3584
864-232-9091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hopping restaurant with entertainment and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stopped in on a Thursday night--reservations are definitely a must! Place was packed but we found room at the bar where we enjoyed a glass of wine while listening to the live blues/jazz. Food is southern BBQ, but they also have steaks, chickens, etc. Really good and worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    177
    43
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was great. We went late afternoon on weekend when there were huge crouds due to ball game and etc in town. The service was great. The food was excellent. I had salmon. It was the best I had ever had in a resturant in Greenville. The potato cakes were great too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue in a Beautiful Downtown Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The barbecue here is outstanding with an excellent menu variety and portions. Come hungry or you will take a lot of food home with you. The wait staff was excellent and helpful. If you like baebecue this is the place to stop in downtown Greenville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good dinner and large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had the opportunity to eat at Smoke On The Water for the second time last night. I had the prime rib form the smoker, and I was very good. Everyone else in our group also commented on how good their dinner was as well. In addition to all the normal smoked meats, steaks, and chops, Smoke has a nice sized beer, wine, and cocktail list. They also offer a large selection of southern sides that are all good. The atmosphere is lively and has a bluesy feel...especially when they have live music. It is a bit loud, so the waiters might have a hard time hearing your orders (we experienced this ourselves). I would say the wait staff overall are average. They didn't do a poor job, but they were not as attentive as you might get at a slightly more expensive place. That being said, it's a a BBQ place...what should be expected? For the price, portion size, and quality of food, Smoke On The Water is definitly a good place to dine with friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been to Smoke on the Water many times. So, when my kids came down from New York, this was the place I took them. Both my daughter and her husband loved it. My son and his girlfriend were amazed at the quality and the price. He remarked that a similar restaurant in NY would be three or four times the price. As for me and my wife, the fried pearl oysters and West End Nachos were the beginning of a sumptuous meal. There is nothing on the entree menu that isn't mouth watering.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke On The Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.