We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Go With Friends!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
1 Augusta St, Ste 202, Greenville, SC 29601-3584
864-232-9091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 760 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Laurens, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Go With Friends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Went with friends on a Saturday evening. Got downtown early enough to park not far away for $5. Walked downtown and then walked back for dinner. We were all pleased with our food (party of 9) and with the price! My only disappointment was the macaroni and cheese side...if you are going to offer Mac and cheese as a side, it should be specialty. Luckily, mine came with 2 sides, and the loaded potato cake was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    177
    43
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food; Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The only negative was finding parking in busy downtown. The food was great, the service was good. If I go back to Greenville, I'll stop here for sure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wide variety of food served. Has nice outside dining area right in the heart of Greenville, SC. We have eaten there many times and the food has always been excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and the place was packed. We were told a 25 minute wait for a table. We went to the bar to wait. Had the Sunday Bloody Mary $3.00 and they were very good. The bartender was very friendly and attentive. We ordered while at the the bar the homemade pimento cheese appetizer and it was just ok. I observed one server sneeze in his hand and then proceeded to unload clean glassware without washing his hands. After approx 25 minutes we were seated at our table on the patio and It was all down hill from there. Server took our order and then we waited an hour with no food. Server came by and apologized and said kitchen was struggling. We told her we could not wait and to bring our drink check. She never came back and we won't either.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went here on the recommendation of the hotel. The only seating available was outside. We ended up swatting at flies and bees most of the time, which certainly detracted from the experience. The waitress was personable, but stretched too thin. She had too many tables at the same time which meant she was a little slow in attending to our table. The waitress raved about a daily special and quoted a price of $18.95. The plate was delivered with an upside down plastic ramiken on the plate with nothing under it. Almost like it was accidentally dropped onto the plate. I was surprised the kitchen let it go out like that and that the server didn't notice. Additionally, one of the sides ordered with it did not come. The dish was just ok, but by the time she came to check on us, I wasn't interested in ordering anything else. When the bill came, we were charged $23.95 for the item. The ribs were just ok. The grilled skewered shrimp appetizer was the highlight. I would definitely order that again. But I'm not sure that's enough to compel me to return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke On The Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.