We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast
302 Pettigru St, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 4 Greenville B&B and Inns
Kyle, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We were coming to Greenville for business/ pleasure for a week. It turned out it was way more pleasure! I cannot express enough that our stay with Lori at Pettigru was beyond fabulous. We stayed in the Brass Giraffe. From the comfortable bed & amazing shower to the chocolate chip cookies at the coffee pot, wine and cheese platter from 4-6 pm, culinary breakfast EVERY morning to die for, who could ask for more really! We didn't rent a car. Everything is within walking distance , which is good because being well fed, you need to walk and I wouldn't have it ANY other way;)
Lori is definitely the hostess with the mostest . We hated to leave actually! She made us feel so welcome and if we could rent a room all year we would have;) I give her two thumbs up plus. 10 across the board!
Thanks Lori, the only reason we would come back is because of you or if our van breaks down again;)
Cheers!
Sandra & Tracy

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
53
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We could not have found a better B&B for our first trip to Greenville. Lori was the best hostess. We had just checked in when she brought us ice tea and a cheese tray. The room was so well decorated and comfortable we enjoyed just being there. Breakfast was outstanding especially the stuffed french toast, which Lori shared the recipe. We were just a short walk from the beautiful downtown Greenville, what an outstanding city. After walking around downtown all morning and afternoon we returned the Pettigru and sat outside on the nice furniture and visited with my brother and his wife. We had already gotten refreshments from the fridge inside when Lori asked if we needed anything else. No matter what we needed it was there, even cookies for that late night snack. This is a must place to stay in Greenville, a visit to both should be on everyone's list. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was my first time to Greenville. I was there on business. There was some sort of convention taking place downtown so most of the chain hotels were full. I called Lori at Pettigru Place as a shot in the dark, I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before and didn't know much about the B & B culture. This jewel of a place was cozy, well managed, welcoming, and in a great location. It was located in the Historic District of downtown Greenville and therefore only a 10 minute walk from Main Street. The breakfast served every morning was out of this world. They served all guests (of age) a silver trayed wine and cheese refreshment in the afternoons (or beer and cheese for the beer drinker). The employees were very warm and attentive...on the mornings that I had to leave before breakfast they would make one for me and leave it in the fridge to take on the road. If the experience staying there wasn't enough the service that they continued to provide after I left was above and beyond. I left my traveling toiletry bag in my room and didn't realize it until I got home. After calling Lori to let her know they found it and shipped it back to me free of charge! Its the small things that count...the details that turn something from regular into luxury. Pettigru Place was a luxury stay...I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The home and grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained. Lori could not be a more welcoming and gracious host. We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, the homemade cookies and the afternoon wine, fruit and cheese trays. It was so nice to have a fridge stocked with soft drinks and water. Lori has thought of everything! There is plenty of private parking in the back of the house. We had a very early departure on our last day and Lori packed a great "to go" breakfast for us to enjoy on the road.

Room Tip: The Brass Giraffe room has a ceiling fan but it was too hot even with the A/C on. It has 3 large win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a beautifully run bed and breakfast. The historic home is well maintained and all the rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in the Rosamunde room which was very comfortable. The wine/beer and cheese in the evening was enjoyable, and the breakfast was amazing with stuffed french toast which was a special recipe created by the owner. We felt true southern hospitality here, like very special guests of a welcoming family. What a great location within walking distance of downtown Greenville and all the restaurants, pubs and shops. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed one week as we explored the Greenville area. B&B within walking distance of downtown and located in quiet neighborhood. Breakfasts were outstanding. Best we have ever had at a B&B. Lori was an excellent hostess. Just wish the room was a wee bit larger with a place to unpack clothes. Would certainly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Lowest priced room lacked storage space but other rooms were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have been staying at Pettigru Place B&B for at least 6 years periodically. I have finally stayed in each of the B&B's rooms - and loved all of them. I am always happy to be there and find it to be relaxing and hospitable. Lori is a great hostess and her staff are always very accomodating. Breakfast is awesome. I try to stay at the B&B every time I come to Greenville.

Room Tip: Any room is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast

Address: 302 Pettigru St, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the heart of downtown Greenville, South Carolina surrounded by the gracious homes of the Pettigru Historic District. This perfect romantic getaway features beautifully appointed common rooms, five luxurious guest rooms, and a wonderful English garden providing superb Greenville lodging in the northwest corner of Upstate South Carolina. More than just a hotel, the inn will immediately make you feel right at home as the innkeeper greets you with a smile. You will soon be tucked away in your room relaxing while enjoying a glass of wine and cheese board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pettigru Place b&b
Pettigru Place Hotel Greenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pettigru Place Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.