We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not true to its name and reputation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Indian Cuisine

Saffron Indian Cuisine
1178 Woodruff Rd Ste 16, Greenville, SC 29607
(864) 289-8505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not true to its name and reputation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been a couple times, came looking for authentic Indian food. Lacking in everything and would fool anyone that doesn't know the true taste of how the food should be. Awful service and over charging for poor quality food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    46
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Indian Buffet Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took a group of six to Saffron for lunch. Wow, was this place busy, and there's a good reason why. Every single thing I had was tasty. We were seated quickly and everyone jumped in the buffet line. I especially enjoyed the beef meatballs in coconut sauce, cabbage pakodi, and naan bread. Shoot, even the caesar salad was great. The six of us got out the door for less than $60.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you're not sure about what Indian dishes you think you'll like, this is the best place to try a little of everything during lunch. Don't forget to grab some naan

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Value for quality and Cleanliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We mostly go here for their buffet lunch. My wife normally hates buffets, but she loves this one. Very tasty well prepared food. Biggest problem is Woodruff Rd. traffic. Consider getting there by Garlington Rd. or Miller Rd., if that is an option. Also, it is close to the I385 exit, so that may serve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Take Out was Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I didnt have time to sit down so ordered take out and was impressed by the quality for this small city in South Carolina. I did not expect a great deal but I looked at other peoples inputs and they suggested this was one of the better ones in town.

I had a lamb madras (hot) and it had a great flavor with a nice kick to it as well. My wife had a chicken jalfrezi and had to ask them to hold the asparagus (why they put that in there I do not know), anyway the flavor and spice were good. Nan breads were a little disappointing, and they did not discount there full price for 'to go' food, but I would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.