We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swad

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Swad
1421 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607
864-233-2089
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 754 restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Saratoga Springs, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spurred to visit by generally very positive reviews, I was disappointed by Swad. Food alone does not a restaurant make. The place itself is a hole in the wall strewn with miscellaneous grocery goods and other "stuff". There were three in our party and each drink and food dish was served separately with several minutes delay between each. By the time the third person's food arrived, the first to be served was finished. We encouraged the first served to eat since, if we had waited until everything arrived, the first two dishes would have been cold. Portion sizes were small and fairly expensive considering the lack of decor and service. Suggest Saffron as an alternative for Indian food in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    8
    7
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, hilarious staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I haven't eaten at many Indian restaurants, so cannot compare. When you walk in though, it smells like home cooking.

We enjoyed the food - great variety, with many options. The gentleman who served us really made the meal memorable. He was so funny and kind... very grandfatherly, and in a way that had us laughing throughout our dinner.

My only suggestion is that if you really can't take spice, tell them you want all of your food "mild".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Homemade and fresh Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic, homemade (unlike other Indian restaurants that use lot of artificial color and oil) and friendly (owned by a couple from Mumbai). I love their puran poli with dal! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really as good as others say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a trip with my wife and son to New England from GA, I made a point of dropping by Swad for lunch. We're vegetarian and ordered various dishes. It was all very fresh and tasty. We frequently eat Indian food at restaurants and cook it ourselves. My son got the daily thali, which I usually avoid because they can be so predictably boring. Not this thali, it was an interesting and delicious variety of dishes. We all felt good after eating here. The atmosphere is relaxed and enjoyable. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All vegetarian Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Swad while on vacation and enjoyed the food. Very authentic Indian dishes, and completely vegetarian. The owners are friendly and will recommend dishes to you, if you'd like. They have a grocery, too. It's a small restaurant in a strip center but is worth finding.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swad also viewed

 

Been to Swad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.