We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Kittery, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a wedding over Labor Day weekend...our stay could not have been nicer! Wonderful staff, gorgeous place, Greenville is charming!!! 10++++ is how I'd score this hotel! Friendly staff, great complimentary breakfasts!

Room Tip: Overlook the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    98
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
124
143
18
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first trip to Greenville. We arrived early for our reservation, the front desk staff and valet parking attendant were so friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early and they were very helpful in explaining how to navigate around their beautiful city. Our first impression of Greenville started here and got even better during our stay. We definitely plan to return sooner than later.

Room Tip: This hotel has 6 floors, choose a high floor as families with kids tend to choose the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hampton Inn and Suites in downtown Greenville is a wonderful place to stay. It is located on the beautiful river that flows through the town and is in the heart of the Main Street shopping and dining area. Aside from location, the accommodations and the staff were exceptional at this hotel! The breakfast buffet included so many choices that I ate more than I normally would for breakfast. When the staff learned we were celebrating two birthdays, the promptly delivered a personalized birthday card to our room and included generous coupons for free drinks at two nearby businesses. We (myself and three friends) were constantly impressed by the quality of the hotel and the professionalism of the staff. The room was large, very comfortable and clean. We can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is beautifully situated on the banks of the Reedy River, across from a couple of waterfall features, a pedestrian bridge that links to a charming rejuvenated downtown, and is surrounded by elegantly restored turn-of-century (last century, that is!) buildings. The suites overlooking the River have ample balconies and great creature comforts, including all the latest hook ups for your inner geek. Very tastefully furnished, I could move right in here! Staff is excellent so far, and the free breakfast is fantastic. The only drawback is the quality of the towels. With all the investment that Hilton made in this property, they should have upgraded the towels to match the rest of the fine amenities. (I'm a real bug about towels ). Overall the hotel is excellent and a good value and I highly recommend it AND Greenville as a destination.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel with-in walking distance to main street, falls park, Peace Center. The staff at check-in was top notch, very friendly, extremely helpful and very knowledgeable of restaurants downtown and local events. A little pricey but with such a great location that's to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Glenn M,

Thank you for your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites in Greenville, SC. We pride ourselves in delivering outstanding customer service and I am so pleased to hear how well our staff took care of your needs during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to taking care of you again the next time you are in town!

All the Best!
Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
m.denson@Hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Inn is a great Hotel in a super location. Walking distant to all the Main Street Restaurants and shops.Greenville is a stylish city and fun for all. There are 6 floors and I prefer the higher floors. You'l love the Hampton Inn and Greenvile, SC

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear David L,

Thank you for being our guest! I am pleased to hear how you enjoyed our hotel and our centralized location in downtown Greenville. Greenville has seen a wonderful revival over the past few years and there is always something fun to do and good food to eat.

We hope to see you again during your next trip into Greenville!

All the Best,
Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great location for an HI, usually such riverfront space would be reserved for high-portfolio hotels, but this is a coup. Great views of Riverplace and downtown Greenville. Walk-able to everything, even the ballpark (15 min tops), dining downstairs and all over town - tons of places to eat nearby. Rooms are in great shape, spacious, and there is a very helpful desk staff, night or day. I did try a few drinks at the bar associated with the premises, but it was pretty pedestrian selection for booze and beer, and there was a strange crowd in there late night. Does run a bit pricey for other area selections, but looks to be about middle-of-the-road for the area.

Room Tip: Pay or ask for the river-side rooms of the hotel, fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.