We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt best Hotel in Greenville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Without a doubt best Hotel in Greenville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a pleasant experience dealing with this hotel. Most of the time when I book hotel's for my colleagues it can be painful. This hotel made the process as easy as possible and took the stress away from me. My associate was in Greenville for a business trip and from his reviews I can't wait to stay there myself. From the moment he checked in until he checked out, he could not stop raving about his whole experience. It was an easy process dealing with their wonderful staff and it was reassuring knowing my associate was well taken care of! I will be booking with them anytime I have someone traveling in Greenville.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Christopher P,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! It was our pleasure to be able to take care of your colleague while they were in town. We strive to deliver an outstanding product paired with wonderful value and I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your experience. We look forward to taking care of your guests in the future!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    141
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
161
203
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay when I visit Greenville! The staff is friendly, the location is perfect, the view is beautiful, the rooms are clean and the coffee is fresh! What else could you ask for on your vacation!!? Thanks for making our night in Greenville wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Becky H,

Thank you for being our loyal guest at Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville. Thank you also for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that our staff and location was to your satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you on your next journey into Greenville!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My daughter-in-law and I came from the Atlanta area for a quick mini-vacation. We were very pleased with the hotel. We got in very early and the staff invited us to enjoy the very nice breakfast (mind you, this was on a weekday - I'm not sure if it would be the same on the weekend). Breakfast includes hot dishes such as scrambled eggs or pre-made omelets, sausage or bacon, and french bread fingers; oatmeal with various toppings, a waffle-maker, pastries, bread and a toaster, yogurts, fresh fruit (apples, bananas, and fresh berries and pineapple when we were there); and of course various hot drinks: coffees, teas, and hot chocolate mix. We followed another reviewer's tip and drove around the garage parking until we found a parking spot near the elevator doors marked with the Hampton Inn's name. After that, we had no trouble getting back and forth from the hotel to our car.
The location is superb. The Lazy Goat mediterranean restaurant is just across the way and is an excellent restaurant. The river and park are just down some stairs with beautiful fountains on either side. Once down those stairs, the main park is to the right and the walk goes all the way to Cleveland Park and the zoo. Close by are an "Art Walk" with several art studio/stores as well as O-CHA tea bar which is an excellent place for a cool (or hot) drink. Across the river are the Peace Amphitheater, where there are some outdoor concerts, as well as Larkin's on the River, where we had some of the best filet mignon we've ever eaten.
The hotel room was clean and very nice. We had a double queen room, which does not have a river view available. It didn't matter to us, since we didn't spend much time in the room, but if you plan on being in the room a lot, getting one with a river view and/or balcony might suit you better. It was nice to have plenty of towels. The room came with the standard TV, microwave, and fridge. We found out the ice machine was just on the other side of the room, but we never heard anyone use it.
Overall, a quiet room with helpful and friendly staff and an excellent location!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear L0veToTravel88,

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience at our property! It appears that you and your daughter-in-law where able to enjoy our wonderful city and it's many attractions! I am glad you enjoyed our property and it's many amenities. The breakfast you experienced is the same breakfast that we serve each day. Our egg and protein offerings vary day to day, but the rest of the food items are constant. I am pleased that your room was to your liking and was clean and well appointed. Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you again in the future!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very pleased with stay here. Clean, friendly, well-appointed, and excellent location. Located directly on Riverplace and the park. Walking distance to excellent shops and restaurants. Parking garage was easy in and out. Highly recommend if you are looking for a hotel in Greenville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you so much for your review of our property! I am thrilled to read how our staff and accommodations were to your liking. I am also glad that you were able to visit the local area as Greenville has a wonderful downtown! Thank you again and we hope we have the opportunity to take care of you the next time you are in the area!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMOND
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Offers valet which I would recommend as parking garage and several elevator options are confusing. Front desk staff were accommodating and friendly. Room clean and comfy as usual with the exception of the Air conditioner. It seemed to be set on a timer to default back to 78degrees after being on for an hour. Needless to say my husband did not get a good nights sleep due to uncomfortable room temps. Also there was not a fan option to keep the air circulating. I requested a late check out and was given 30min..... We will try another hotel next trip to Greenville to see what our options are. Don't miss the great shopping and restaurants north on main. Historical West end is nice but unfortunately I did not discover the city center until leaving town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Live_for_vacation77,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property. We have recently painted our elevators into the parking garage a bright Hampton blue to help direct our guests to the most convenient elevator from the garage up to our property. It's wonderful to hear that our staff was friendly and the room was to your liking. I apologize for the difficulties with the air conditioning unit and we will look into this to ensure all of our units are working on a consistent and proficient manner. The Greenville area has a plethora of lodging options, and we hope you do stay with us again the next time you are in town. Thank you again!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Center of the river walk! Very close to all the river activities. Parking under the hotel. The restaurant across the had great food, the service was average. We had a child with us and she loved the room.

Room Tip: Junior executive suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Greenville! Our location near the river and in central downtown is great for walking to nearby restaurants and the riverwalk. I am glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed the room and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you again and I hope we will see you on your next trip into Greenville!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@Hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Absolutely the best place to stay in Greenville! Park your car and put on your walking shoes! Great restaurants for any appetite. Friendly staff will accomodate any desires. Room was clean and comfy. Daily cleaning service was 100% - Great place!!!! As Red Sox fans, our visit included games to the Greenville Drive -just a 10 min. walk to their staduim (a mini Fenway with a Green Monster!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Margaret E,

Thank you for your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville. It's wonderful to hear how our staff and property were able to WOW you! From our front desk staff to our engineers, we strive for excellence in all we do. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon! Go Sox!

All the Best!

Morgan Denson
Guest Service Manager
m.denson@hospitalityamerica.com
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#2 of 62 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#17 of 62 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.