We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Folly Beach, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having a very nice place to rest our tired bones made being away from home much better. Visiting with children and grand children for Christmas eve and day was the accomplished goal. A beautiful resort level Hampton Inn was a plus. The facility is in an upscale location on the Reedy River in Greenville, SC. Everything in the area is new and pretty. Staff was well spoken, well trained and exceptionally pleasant despite having to be at work during a holiday. The morning meal was a meal, fresh and tasty. Hamptons can vary so check their reviews. We'll go back the this one just for a couple days relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear William W,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We're very excited to hear you enjoyed our amenities and friendly staff. Our #1 goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites is guests' Satisfaction. On behalf of our entire staff, Thank you for staying with us during the holidays and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville to visit your family.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    104
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
128
159
19
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Absolutely the perfect location. I looked at Westin and glad it was booked, preferred the Hampton location by far. Staff was very friendly. We had 2 rooms one was with the river view, very quiet, nice view. The other room no so quiet, Party going on at 4 a.m. and staff not able to do anything about it. Disappointed there was no compensation for the lack of sleep my daughter got. Other then that, beautiful Hotel.

Room Tip: Riverview is worth the quietness. At the end, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfside beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

the hotel was great. the staff was friendly and informative. the room was clean, comfortable with in room wi-fi. the breakfast had plenty to choose from. the location was in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Surfsidebeachnancy,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal. Our convenient location, hotel amenities and friendly staff made it a pleasant time during your stay in Greenville, this gives us great satisfaction. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great place to stay in Greenville SC. Plenty of food and drink within walking distance. Business or leisure. Fantastic location. Staff was very helpful. There is self parking with relative ease though larger vehicles are a bit harder.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Timothy P,

We appreciate you taking the time to place a comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are excited to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and our staff made it comfortable and pleasant. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Greenville area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location is the key for making this Hampton Inn a favorite. Shopping, eating and drinking establishments are all around this hotel. It is right on Main Street in the most fashionable parts of Greenville, SC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Alexander B. N

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the perspective of our guests. We are very excited you enjoyed your stay while with us and also our convenient location. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,
Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stay here!! Perfect location near EVERYTHING and the service was exceptional. Any time I am in Greenville this will be the spot I select. The decor is great and the lights on the outside really set it apart from any other Hampton Inn and Suites I have stayed at.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for taking the time to place a comment on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the guests' perspective. We are glad you had a memorable stay and enjoyed all amenities and décor of our property. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nicest Hampton Inn I have stayed in. Was there for a friend's wedding and we were able to walk to tons of bars and restaurants as well as nearby parks. Lobby was nicely decorated and the staff and hot breakfast were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dani G,

We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay during a special event. Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the city of Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.