We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Location is the key for making this Hampton Inn a favorite. Shopping, eating and drinking establishments are all around this hotel. It is right on Main Street in the most fashionable parts of Greenville, SC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Alexander B. N

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the perspective of our guests. We are very excited you enjoyed your stay while with us and also our convenient location. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,
Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    99
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
125
144
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stay here!! Perfect location near EVERYTHING and the service was exceptional. Any time I am in Greenville this will be the spot I select. The decor is great and the lights on the outside really set it apart from any other Hampton Inn and Suites I have stayed at.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for taking the time to place a comment on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the guests' perspective. We are glad you had a memorable stay and enjoyed all amenities and décor of our property. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nicest Hampton Inn I have stayed in. Was there for a friend's wedding and we were able to walk to tons of bars and restaurants as well as nearby parks. Lobby was nicely decorated and the staff and hot breakfast were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dani G,

We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay during a special event. Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the city of Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My fiance and I went to the Greenville Hilton for a peaceful weekend. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice and always helpful. We had a second story room with a river view. Even from the second story the view was excellent. We were even able to watch the Christmas parade from our balcony. The hotel is right on Main Street and in walking distance of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Tornelius R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey for our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and cleanliness of our hotel. Our goal is to ensure every guest has an exceptional experience and a memorable stay. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stay at this property every time I stay in Greenville. Nelle and Shelby are the friendliest and most helpful staff I have come across in a hotel. They make you feel like you are at home. Facilities are always immaculate and the proximity to restaurants and bars, not to mention parks and the river is fantastic. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: They are all nice here
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly, they definitely have a green policy
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jeff D,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel via Trip Advisor and staying with us once again! It was a pleasure having you with us. We are excited to hear your stay was just as memorable as previously! Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal and it is our duty to make sure every guest has the best service from our staff on your visit to Greenville. On behalf of Nelle, Shelby and remaining staff, we would like to thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a diamond! It was a bit tricky to find, due to roads, and location, but WOW! and right downtown, walk to everything! This is a five star!! I can't say enough so I'll tell you the highlights, the bed was king and very comfortable, very clean, very nice staff and they have a great breakfast buffet. I complimented the gal who ran cause you can tell she took serious pride in her job! Its a must stay place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Hashharrietps,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the guests' perspective. I'm very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay! On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back into the Greenville area.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I hesitate to stay at Hampton Inns as they are "hit or miss" experiences and basically they do not have restaurant room service. To me, Hampton is usually at the bottom of the Hilton hotel experience and offers fewer amenities than other Hilton hotels. I've stayed at way too many dirty, lack-of-service Hamptons in the past. This hotel was AMAZING from check in to check out. Beautiful, clean facility in a great location - easy walking distance to entertainment venues as well as shopping. The person at the front desk was away when we walked in, but only for a minute, and she apologized profusely for keeping us waiting. There was a welcome letter at our door minutes after we checked in. Breakfast selections were abundant; they even had hard boiled eggs. I took breakfast up to my room to share with my daughter and was juggling - very poorly - many items. The server at the breakfast buffet immediately brought out a tray for me and that definitely made the transport easier. Thank you Hampton Greenville for such a lovely stay. I'll be back! You made our stay really wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Ms. BJSteadman,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on Trip Advisor. We are excited to hear you were extremely satisfied with our amenities and our staff during your stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you very soon on your next visit to Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.