We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 62 hotels in Greenville
San Francisco, United States
1 review
“Great Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Nicest Hampton Inn I have stayed in. Was there for a friend's wedding and we were able to walk to tons of bars and restaurants as well as nearby parks. Lobby was nicely decorated and the staff and hot breakfast were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dani G,

We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay during a special event. Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal at the Hampton Inn and Suites. On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the city of Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    97
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
116
139
18
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My fiance and I went to the Greenville Hilton for a peaceful weekend. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice and always helpful. We had a second story room with a river view. Even from the second story the view was excellent. We were even able to watch the Christmas parade from our balcony. The hotel is right on Main Street and in walking distance of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Tornelius R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey for our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and cleanliness of our hotel. Our goal is to ensure every guest has an exceptional experience and a memorable stay. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stay at this property every time I stay in Greenville. Nelle and Shelby are the friendliest and most helpful staff I have come across in a hotel. They make you feel like you are at home. Facilities are always immaculate and the proximity to restaurants and bars, not to mention parks and the river is fantastic. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: They are all nice here
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly, they definitely have a green policy
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jeff D,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel via Trip Advisor and staying with us once again! It was a pleasure having you with us. We are excited to hear your stay was just as memorable as previously! Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal and it is our duty to make sure every guest has the best service from our staff on your visit to Greenville. On behalf of Nelle, Shelby and remaining staff, we would like to thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a diamond! It was a bit tricky to find, due to roads, and location, but WOW! and right downtown, walk to everything! This is a five star!! I can't say enough so I'll tell you the highlights, the bed was king and very comfortable, very clean, very nice staff and they have a great breakfast buffet. I complimented the gal who ran cause you can tell she took serious pride in her job! Its a must stay place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Hashharrietps,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor survey. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the guests' perspective. I'm very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay! On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back into the Greenville area.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I hesitate to stay at Hampton Inns as they are "hit or miss" experiences and basically they do not have restaurant room service. To me, Hampton is usually at the bottom of the Hilton hotel experience and offers fewer amenities than other Hilton hotels. I've stayed at way too many dirty, lack-of-service Hamptons in the past. This hotel was AMAZING from check in to check out. Beautiful, clean facility in a great location - easy walking distance to entertainment venues as well as shopping. The person at the front desk was away when we walked in, but only for a minute, and she apologized profusely for keeping us waiting. There was a welcome letter at our door minutes after we checked in. Breakfast selections were abundant; they even had hard boiled eggs. I took breakfast up to my room to share with my daughter and was juggling - very poorly - many items. The server at the breakfast buffet immediately brought out a tray for me and that definitely made the transport easier. Thank you Hampton Greenville for such a lovely stay. I'll be back! You made our stay really wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Ms. BJSteadman,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on Trip Advisor. We are excited to hear you were extremely satisfied with our amenities and our staff during your stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you very soon on your next visit to Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sporle, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Best experience in a long while. Clean and well cared for hotel. Super staff that was fun and always had smiles. Breakfast was a special treat and the ladies in the kitchen were lovely. Easy walk to town and frankly much better than the upscale hotel my conference was at. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Jeff H,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our #1 goal is to make sure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay. I am also excited to hear our staff offered the best level of service and our breakfast items was to your satisfaction. On behalf of our staff here at the Hampton Inn and Suites, we would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you travels bring you back to the city of Greenville.

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel in an excellent location in Greenville's West End. Nice walk to shops, cafes, restaurants, parks, river. Staff is very courteous and helpful. We stayed with two young children ages 3 and 2. The kids had a great time and we were treated very respectively. The free breakfast was hot and had a nice variety. The beds were comfortable which is a must! We loved staying in the circular king suite with a view of the river. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Danielle M,

Thank you for completing a survey with Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay while with us. Our guests' satisfaction is our #1 goal and we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from our guests' perspective. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your next travels bring you back to the area!

Yensi Castro
Guest Service Manager
y.castro@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.