We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Greenville!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Greenville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to stay for the downtown Greenville area. Excellent location and right next to the River Walk. Staff are very friendly and the rooms are very clean. Beds were very, very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning had a lot of variety and was very nicely prepared. We have stayed here before and will stay here again. Last time was just the Wife and I, this time was with the kids (16 & 8). Both times a great experience.

Room Tip: Any room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear USCGamecocks20102011,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown. We are very pleased to hear your enjoyed our centralized location and our fabulous breakfast buffet! We appreciate your repeat business and can't wait to have you back with us again soon.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    101
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
125
149
18
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We traveled cross country from San Diego for my nephew's wedding at the Ryan Nicholas Inn. This was our first trip to South Carolina. The staff at the Hampton Inn were very friendly and assisted us with where to go, what to see, and how to get there. We did have an issue when our room keys failed to unlock the door. I walked down to the front desk and received an apology and a new set of room keys. Unfortunately, the new keys would not work either. Back at the front desk I was told the battery on the locking mechanism was bad. Security would let us in our room but it would take an hour or so to replace the battery. To our surprise, a very polite and friendly staff member named Manny was at our door and fixed the lock within 10 minutes. He checked to confirm our keys worked before he left and he followed up with us the next morning. Nice guy with a friendly smile, he made us feel comfortable and resolved the inconvenience immediately. Please know that Manny is a great ambassador for your hotel and your brand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Harold F,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown for your recent trip to the area. I apologize you had some issues with your room keys, but I am happy to hear Manny was able to resolve this problem in a timely manner. Manny does a fantastic job and always makes sure our guests are well taken care of. We are so lucky to have him part of our team and I will be sure he sees your compliments.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should your travels return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Convienently located to downtown Greenville this hotel has true value for the price. Knowledgeable and serviceable staff will ensure you have a great stay. I stay there on all of my trips to Greenville.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear David E,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown! We appreciate your business and thanks for your comments to our hotel staff. As a team, it is our main goal to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable experience possible. I am happy to hear we are your preferred hotel when you come to the area.

We can't wait to have you back with us again soon! Please give us a call if we can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for your review.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Splurged on a river front room with balcony for one night. So worth it!! Immaculate! Front desk is friendly and helpful. Fresh cookies on the lobby!! The location can't be beat - views are amazing and close to everything. There is a reason this hotel is number one in Greenville, SC. If they keep it up, we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear SoozieKabloozie,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown! The Studio Suite with balcony is indeed one of our most popular suites as it comes with a fantastic view of the downtown area and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed it. We appreciate your comments to our staff and can't wait to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in downtown Greenville. We chose this location to be close to the Red White and Blue Festival and were not disappointed. The hotel overlooks the Reedy River and is across the street from the main entrance to the Falls River Park. We were able to walk to the park and enjoy the rushing river in just minutes and could see the fireworks from the hotel.

The free breakfast buffer was great, including lots of fresh fruit in addition to the standard Hampton Inn offerings. All of the employees we saw while we were there were most helpful and courteous. Their suggestions of nearby restaurants were wonderful (see my reviews of The Lazy Goat and Grill Marks).

The location of this hotel is great for exploring the park or the many wonderful restaurants in Historic West End or on Main Street. It was perfect to be able to dash back to the hotel and dry off during the festival as well. I would definitely recommend staying there whenever you travel to Greenville!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear GAscrapper,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown! We are very delighted to hear you enjoyed our wonderful downtown location and the Red White and Blue Festival. Thank you for comments to our fantastic hotel staff. We hope to have you back with us again soon. Please give us a call if we can ever assist you in making future reservations.

Thanks again for sharing your experience with others!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

First time staying at this location and as always. The serivice was very good. I will definately return due to the location of this hotel to downtown entertainment and comfort of the hotel. My business will require me to come to the area multiple times and I will choose this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ethel S,

Thank you so much for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown! We are very pleased to hear we are your preferred hotel when you come to Greenville and that you enjoyed our wonderful downtown location.

We can't wait to have the pleasure of your hosting your next trip to the area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was very satisfied with this hotel. The only recommendation that I have is to leave the air conditioner on at a lower temperature when someone is expected to check-in to that room that day. It took almost all night for my room to cool off and I was not able to sleep comfortably for 3 or 4 hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear MelindaG,

Thank you for taking the time write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace-Greenville Downtown. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your feedback regarding the AC unit. We have taken your comments seriously and have taken action to fix this issue. I apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you.

We can't wait to have you back with us again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future. Thanks again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.