We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenville.....a little TOO clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Greenville.....a little TOO clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Greenville is a pretty and clean (perhaps too sterile)
town. We stayed in the Hampton on Riverplace. This seems to be a fairly new hotel and we had a great room with a balcony. Just be sure to avoid the "Lazy Goat" Restaurant below. The menu is far too ambitious and the dishes we chose failed miserably. Far better eating venues in the downtown area, 10 mins walk away. Advice to any smokers out there.....don't go to Greenville. I like to enjoy a cigar while having a drink but you're not even allowed to smoke on the sidewalk within 10 feet of any establishment. However, all in all, it was a pleasant enough short visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    125
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
143
184
20
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I chose this hotel based on the favorable reviews here, and am so glad I did. The location downtown couldn't be better. It was on the end of Main Street where most of the action seemed to be; shopping, dining and the park were right outside the door. We were only staying in town for one night, and since we were arriving mid-afternoon wanted to be able to spend some time in town. It was very convenient to park our car in their parking garage ($6) and walk everywhere. As far as the hotel, it was just wonderful ... the staff was friendly and efficient, our room was above-average (widescreen HDTV, large bathroom with long vanity and plush towels, comfortable beds and great pillows), we heard no noise at all from other rooms, and everything was very clean. Just top-notch, really. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit this delightful city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

This is overall an excellent hotel. It is very upscale. It is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is far above average. They
had cookies every afternoon and mints available all the time.

The only problem with this hotel occurs when Larkin's (a restaurant directly across the river) has a wedding or other musical event going on. The bands are so loud that the room shakes and you not only could not possibly sleep in the room, but you cannot even have a conversation with anyone. So, if you don't want a lot of noise --- don't book a suite directly on the river.

I think they should warn everyone of this when they make a reservation. The only warning we had was a tiny note near the
elevator that said they would move your room if noise was a problem. However, the night we were they were sold out and had no room to move us to.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

I was very happy with this hotel. My husband and I stayed here for four nights for business. The hotel is fairly new and looks great along the Reedy River.

The front desk staff was great upon arrival. We were offered an upgrade to a suite and when I mentioned concerns about being too close to the elevator - they gave me a key to check the room out. We were directly behind the elevator and never heard it once in our room. They were very eager to make sure we were comfortable. The lobby is small, but nice. The elevators were always fast. The business center had two available printers and computers and were very useful to look up area information.

The room was great! We had a microwave/fridge. The bed and pillows are amazing. Housekeeping did an outstanding job cleaning every day.

I never went to breakfast but my husband said it was fine - typical Hampton breakfast. My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is there was not a restaurant on site and we did not find a pool.

The location is great! It sits right in front of the Riverwalk - which is beautiful! It provided for great walks along the river and it is a very short walk to downtown dining and shopping.

I had some problems with being overcharged at checkout - but it was all worked out and overall we had a great stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night last week and wished we had had more time to spend there. The hotel is perfectly located to explore this up and coming neighborhood and city. This is not your regular road side Hampton. It reminds me more of a boutique hotel - the design is lovely! We ate dinner at the newly opened High Cotton restaurant, which is next door to the hotel, and had a most excellent dinner. Would most certainly recommend this hotel to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

This hotel is not like the typical Hampton Inn. This hotel is far more like a "real" downtown business class hotel. Very nice modern lobby with an excellent location right on the river. It seems more like a Hilton, Sheraton or Weston than a typical Hampton Inn. It also has pretty reasonable rates. The only hassle is parking - they are next to a parking garage and there is a fee. However, that is typical of downtown hotels.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL, GA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Hampton Inn Downtown in Greenville. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay! The room was tastefully furnished, immaculately clean and the location was very convenient to downtown shops, restaurants and performing arts centers. This facility is also located across the street from Falls Park on the Reedy River, which was a wonderful little park to see. The staff were very accomodating and welcoming, seeing to our every need. A parking deck ($6 daily) is located beneath the hotel, so we always had covered parking in a safe location. If you decide to stay at this location in the near future, be advised that there is a new building construction going on next door to the hotel, but we were never bothered by the noise of construction.

A little tip when visiting Greenville - be sure to check out Soby's on the Side Cafe, which is just two blocks from the hotel. The soups and sandwiches there are EXCELLENT!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#2 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.