We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located right in the river in the downtown district!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mesick, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Located right in the river in the downtown district!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect for walking to shopping, restaurants, night life! Underground parking is very reasonable at $6.00 a day. Rooms are spotless; even the duvet covers are washed between guests! Breakfast is included and is better than most, with FRESH fruits, not frozen, and plenty of seating. Eating area faces outside for a nice view. Staff very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear lovethesunshine4444,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of centralized location as it allows our guests to easily walk anywhere they would like in downtown. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast buffet and we appreciate you mentioning our wonderful hotel staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to Greenville. Please give us a call if we can ever be of assistance in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    122
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
137
180
20
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a small sales meeting in January @ this location and received great attention and care. My sales team loved being in the heart of Greenville and able to walk to restaurants and bars. We had the choice of bringing lunch in through different restaurants or had the ability to eat @ a close restaurant. I also was able to bring bottled water and treats in, so it kept the cost of the meeting low.
We had a great time and appreciated the great service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Julie J,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace to host your sales meeting! We are happy to hear everything went smooth for you and your team. We hope you will consider us in the future should you return to Greenville.

Again, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with others. We hope to do business with you again soon!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

OK...if this hotel were a bargain I would easily give it 5 stars but I paid $235 all in for a non-view room which is a little pricey for a room on the smaller side.

Pros: 1) Location is great and you can go for walks on the Reedy river or even walk down to the minor league park down Main street and see a game which we did. Very scenic around the hotel.
2) Front desk staff are very nice.
3) Buffet was good with a good mix of fresh berries.

Cons: 1) Price for a small non-view room.
2) Breakfast area is small and we could not get a seat and felt like I was constantly bumping into people while I was trying to get some food. We ended up taking back to the room to eat.

Room Tip: Go for the view rooms if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Atlas 313,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed our centralized location and thank you for your comments to our staff. Being in the heart of downtown, you will notice our rates are higher than other Hampton Inns and are priced comparable to other hotels in the downtown area. We do apologize for the limited space in the breakfast area. We recognize this space is limited and we are looking at new ways to address this to ensure our guests are comfortable as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future should you return to Greenville. If I can ever be of assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The quality of the room furnishings and décor is dated with very little on site amenities. The night rental is extremely high for the service and accommodations you receive. You are better off to visiting another property in the same general area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Derick D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear your stay our property was not fully to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback and have taken you comments into consideration.

With regards to rates, being in the hear of downtown Greenville you will notice our rates are little higher than your typical Hampton Inns. Thank you for mentioning the decor and ammenities. We are in the process of updating these to ensure our guests receive the best experience as possible!

We hope you will give us another opportunity to host your next trip to Greenville. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance or if there is anything I can do to ensure your patronage.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here last week while attending a conference at another hotel.

As an urban planner I enjoyed the fact that the hotel is located in a new downtown mixed use development (apartments, townhouses, restaurants, stores, offices and hotel) on the Reedy River and the Swamp Rabbit Trail (that extends about 12 miles total at this time) and across the street from the waterfall and park. The view from my room (619) was great, and the only noise I heard late at night was the ducks quacking.

Breakfast was good, with different egg and meat dishes both mornings I was there. And I really liked the large bowl of fresh berries and the fact that there were staff members available.

The reasons I only gave the property four stars are:

1. My room was very narrow, with no space move between the desk chair (pushed in) and the bed.
2. There were no amenities such as a pool or even a hottub. I realize that space is limited, and revenue-producing space is a priority, but there is likely wasted space somewhere that could be converted.
3. The parking is reasonably priced at $6.00/day, but the fact that it cannot be directly accessed from the hotel is inconvenient. I assume this is a result of the fact that the City of Greenville actually owns the parking and that there may be legal issues involved.

Room Tip: Rooms/suites ending in 19 or 21 have great river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear caromex 13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for you comments. As a team, we strive to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable experience while staying with us.

With regards to the amenities we provide, unfortunately our property does not have a swimming pool or hot tub. However, we do have a great partnership with the YMCA and the Kroc Center who will allow our guests to use their facilities at their leisure. Be sure to ask our front desk staff for a pass and we will get you easy directions to these facilities!

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Greenville. It is a quick walk to great shopping, dining, Falls Park, and the Peace Center. If you like to run or walk, it is located on the Swamp Rabbit Trail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kimberly W,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is great for guests who want easy access to the Swamp Rabbit Trail, we are just steps away.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to the Greenville area. If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks again for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I just stayed at the Hampton Inn during the wine and jazz fest and was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is in the perfect location in downtown Greenville overlooking the Reedy River, the TD Amphitheater, and the Peace Center. My room was a king suite with balcony riverfront and I received Hilton points for my stay. The room was impeccably clean and included refrigerator, microwave, which many hotels no longer provide, dry bar, and sitting area. Check-in was seamless, although early check-in was not available, and parking was only 6.00/night. Food provided in am in the lobby. The price was better than other hotels in the downtown area and the accomodation with a view and perfect location can not be beat. All personnel were friendly and accomodating. This will be my overnight stay from now on while in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Billie D,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our centralized location being steps away from the great things downtown Greenville has to offer. Thank you for your comments about our rooms and staff!

We can't wait to host your next trip to Greenville. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
hamptoninnandsuitesgreenville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#2 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.