We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Swainsboro, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

From the front desk clerk and maintenance personnel to the area of of the city where it is located and the beautiful park nearby, this is a very nice Hampton Inn. I highly reccommend a visit to Greenville and the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Glenn W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor! I am hapipy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace. Thank you for your comments to our staff. As a team, our main goal here is to make sure each and every guest has an enjoyable stay.

We can't wait to have you back with us again should you return to Greenvlle. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    109
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
163
19
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is located only a few blocks from the downtown area so we were not distracted by noise from the downtown, but could easily walk there and enjoy the many restaurants and bars, plus see some interesting sculptures and sayings along the way.
The hotel was immaculate, the breakfast was healthy and enjoyable. The parking was a bit wacky but convenient.
I'd spend the money to stay there again as it was so enjoyable with the river and waterfall just a few steps down from the lobby entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CindyR213,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review on our hotel. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We take pride in our location because it is very convenient for our guests to walk anywhere downtown.

We hope to have you back with us again soon should you return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in making future reservations!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel has a great location for walking to everything in downtown Greenvile. BUT, it's extremely overpriced for just an average at best room. To make matters worst, the walls are ridiculously thin and you can EVERYTHING your neighbor(s) do... and I mean everything. For the price paid I would have expected a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Colleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace. I am sorry to hear your stay at our property was not a more enjoyable one. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the prospective of our guests. With regards to rates, being that we are centrally located in the heart of downtown you will notice our rates are higer than other Hampton Inns.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future. If there is anything I can do to ensure your patronage please let me know. Again, thank you for your feedback and the time to you took to write a review on our hotel.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great hotel downtown Greenville, SC. Located on the beautiful river walk area with art shops, quality restaurants, ice cream and coffee shops. Rooms were comfortable and very clean.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. This hotel had the very best breakfast with fresh fruit, waffles, bagels etc. and excellent coffee. Bety was very attentive and kept everything well stocked and at appropriate temperatures.
It is the best Hampton Inn that we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear bluesgalAsheville,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for comments to our front desk and breakfast staff. Our team strives to make sure each and every guest has enjoyable experience while at our property!

We can't wait to have you back should your travels return to the Greenville area. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week for 3 days and loved the view and the downtown location. Walking distance to many nice shops and restaurants and right on a small river. The only negative was the underground parking for a large truck. If you have a normal size car then no problem. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor balconeys are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear DoubleM250,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I understand that the parking garage can be a bit confusing at times. It is a city owned garage so we do have to share it with a few other businesses and residences in the area. We are currently working on getting more signage for the garage to make it much easier on our guests. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Office Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place gets 5 stars for location and design. It's a beautiful site, the rooms are spacious and the service is great. The only thing I would change - a small detail - is that the towels and skimpy, both in size and quantity. I had to ask for extras the first night and hoped they would remember for the second night but no luck. Other than that, the king-size bed was comfortable, bathroom spotless with a walk-in shower, rooms are roomy and our balcony overlooked the plaza and the river. Location is fantastic since you are right on the Reedy River and a quick walk to anywhere, with a feeling of seclusion but minutes away from wherever you want to go.

Room Tip: It's worth springing for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Patti W,

Thank you for taking the time write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. Being right on the Reedy River is very convenient for our guests because they are able to walk pretty much everywhere in downtown.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should your travels return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever of be assistance!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b,barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is extremely clean and located in a beautiful downtown area. Close to running tracks and all attractions. Excellent experience. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was very secure. The breakfast was amazing. The room were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Hampton traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience with our staff! We always want to make our guests feel comfortable and "at home" when they are with us, and it is nice to hear when we do. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back with us again soon! Have a great evening!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Office Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.