We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I love this Hampton Inn. It is on the Reedy River, close to the park and falls, and within walking distance to our favorite restaurants. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. On our recent visit we especially enjoyed the fresh berries for breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Chrisynda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us while in Greenville. Many people love the fact that we are located right on the Reedy River because it is so convenient to walk to, especially guests who like to walk or run a lot. It is also a great view, especially if you stay in one of our riverview rooms. We have a few options of rooms where you will have a great view of the river! Also, I will have to agree with you that the berries for breakfast are the best! They are very fresh and always tasty. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write about our hotel, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    109
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
163
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here several times on business and pleasure trips because it's just across the street from my local office. It is convenient to Greenville's fantastic downtown, including the Peace Center and both of Rick Erwin's fabulous restaurants. There are others, too, like High Cotton, Larkins on the River, Soby's, and Smoke on the Water. This has to be one of the franchise's best locations. It's well-built and well-maintained and the staff was friendly. The lobby is a little small but it's location on the Reedy River makes up for that entirely. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but it's also challenged by the nearby Marriott Courtyard of the same caliber.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Tommy L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is really nice to be located in the center of downtown near so many restaurants, shops and other attractions. The Reedy River is a great place to go walking or running, especially in the warmer months. Although we are a Hilton property, we still work very closely with the Courtyard Marriott Downtown as we are owned by the same hotel management company. Also, a lovely hotel! Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our hotel, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful evening!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

the hotel room was very comfortable. There are
so many good restaurants within walking distance
Roxanne and Betty were so kind and helpful at the breakfast bar.
Miguel was very helpful at the check in desk.
Manolo was so kind to deliver a pack and play for my granddaughter to use while they visited from Atlanta

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Cec1055,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay at during your visit to Greenville! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very closely as a team to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and feel at home while they are here. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Service, room, and stay were excellent.Greenville is a wonderful City. We will be back enjoyed the breakfast as well. Watch the UVa game on ESPN. Go wahoos! Glad is was available. Very easy access to downtown which was nice. The walking district is wonderful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Cheri M,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to be so close to all the restaurants and shops in the downtown area as well as the river walk. Our guests really seem to enjoy that they can walk anywhere downtown. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We look forward to you staying with us again soon! Have a great evening!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, and awesome selection for breakfast! My family was there for a wedding in February. The hotel is close to main street for shopping. You are close to Reddy River Park as well. I ran in the mornings and it was so convenient to the park and its trails. The staff even cleaned our room after we left for the wedding in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear stl2570,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We are very lucky to be in such a great location. Being close to the river is a big perk for a lot of our guests, especially those who like to run or walk. It is such a beautiful area to run because you are able to see so much of the downtown area on the trail. It is nice to be so close to the restaurants and shops because you never have to drive anywhere! Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you with us again soon! Have a great evening!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
(864) 271-8700
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Location of this hotel is perfect for anything downtown Greenville. Short walking distance from plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops. Right on the river which provides fantastic views. Front desk staff had really helpful recommendations for restaurants based on what we were looking for. Also it was an icy night, and they knew which restaurants were closed or open, which was a nice touch. The room was spacious and had a great view, overlooking the river. To summarize, Hampton Inn is in a great location, has a friendly staff, and comfortable, clean rooms.

Room Tip: Just in case, ask for a room facing the river if that's what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear LeaClanton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very lucky to be in such a great location. Not only are we located on the river, but we are walking distance to all of the restaurants and shops downtown. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you with us again soon! Have a great evening!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
(864) 271-8700
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've stayed at Hampton Inn- River Place location, many times over the past 4 yrs. it's consistently top notch, with a friendly, attentive staff, fantastic breakfast, rooms on the level of a 5 star hotel, and so convenient to downtown shops, eateries, parks and the suspended bridge over Reedy Creek. I love the suites overlooking the river or the corner rooms with river view. The bedside USB outlets are really handy, along with a fridge, microwave, flatscreen, comfortable beds, nice pillows and bedding. I travel to Greenville on business, but I also recommend this town and hotel to vacationers. Whether flying solo or with the family, you'll have a great experience at the Hampton Inn - River Place.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. The best rooms are the corner rooms overlooking the river or the suites on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lisa W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We always want to make our guests feel welcome and at home when they stay with us. We get a lot of business travelers during the week, some who stay with us for long periods of time, so the USB charger next to the bed seems to be very popular. Also, the refrigerators and microwaves in all of our rooms are good for guests who like to bring groceries. It is our goal to make sure our guests feel at home with us! Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you with us again soon! Have a great evening!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
(864) 271-8700
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.