We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went there for a business meeting and stayed one night with the wife. Clean and spacious. Next time I'll ask for a better view. The meeting space was very nice on floor 2. The staff was a bit overwhelmed when we arrived to a packed lobby, but they did their best to work quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear LuTiger16,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on Tripadvisors! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your business.

We would love to have you back and should your travles bring you back the area, please give us a call for any of your lodging needs.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    109
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
162
19
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This Hampton is like no other I've been in and sits right off the river in downtown Greenville, SC. It's right in the midst of what is going on and just enought out of the way to be beautiful. It has it's own waterfalls that draw you to it. Loved the Southern charm of the people who work there. It seemed that everyone could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: We had a room farther from the elevator and closer to the river. What a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear nationalmamma,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for compliments to our staff!

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to the area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the most upscale Hampton Inn I've ever been to. It is located in the beautiful downtown section of Greenville, right on a river complete with waterfalls, fountains, and nice restaurants just outside. My standard room was nice as expected, although the Wi-Fi wasn't strong enough to run FaceTime from my 6th floor room -- it worked fine from the lobby, though. The hotel was very full this weekend with the marathon and other events going on. Perfect hotel to walk back to from a nice dinner.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Dan_D48,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others here on Tripadvisor! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for comments.

We hope to have you back with us again soon! Please give us a call if we can be of assitance in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I travel extensively for business and this hotel is one of my favorites. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is always so friendly and anytime I've needed anything they've been very responsive. I love downtown Greenville, and staying here allows me to be close to all the great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your response means a lot to us. We are glad you have always enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff is always helpful. It is a nice feature being located in the center of downtown where our guests are able to walk to all the restaurants and shops. It always makes it very convenient for them. We look forward to having you with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville @RiverPlace
(864) 271-8700
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Stay here while on a college visit to Furman with our son. Easy to find, right off of main street on the river. We had a nice size room overlooking the river. Hotel is within walking distance of most things in downtown. Front desk was helpful with directions. Room was clean and comfortable. Seems to be a fairly new hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tennn,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a response about our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff helpful. It is definitely a nice feature being located in the center of downtown where you can walk everywhere and also being located right next to the river. We always enjoy our Furman fans staying with us! Good luck to your son in his decision on where he will be going to school! We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville @RiverPlace
(864) 271-8700
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stay at Hampton Inns all the time for business and this is the nicest one I have stayed at yet. The hotel is very nice and the location couldn't be better for visiting downtown Grenville. The "Fall for Grenville festival" was in full swing while we were there and it was a lot of fun. This might become an annual trip for us. The hotel staff was also great!!

Room Tip: Some high floors have views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Jebtex,

Thank you so much for your response on our hotel! I am glad you were able to see Greenville during the Fall for Greenville festival and enjoy all the festivities. It's so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much, and we look forward to having you with us again soon! Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our property.

Sincerely,

Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Greenville @RiverPlace
(864) 271-8700
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is a very nice Hampton Inn right on the river. We had a 6th floor balcony room that looked directly over the revitalized Riverwalk area. Great view, excellent room. Breakfast was good and the front desk was very nice and helpful. Close to everything downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear MTMCO,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments to our staff.

We would love to have you stay with us again should you return to Greenville. Please give us a call if we can be of assistance!

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.