We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Bristol, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed at this Hampton Inn on New Year's Eve. We couldn't have picked a better location. The hotel is very nice, and the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants. The breakfast area had many different items. I used Hilton Honors points for booking, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thera20,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our downtown location and accommodations! Please ask for me on your next visit if you have any questions or are in need of restaurant recommendations. We hope your stay gave you a great start to the New Year. And we hope to see you again in 2012!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    109
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
163
19
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

my family and i stayed here fora week....we got a small room....it was overpriced it'slike paying a whole month rent..... i wouldnt recommend for the family.
on our next visit to greenville this will not be our next stay to this hotel....
staff wasnt pleasant. i was asked if we can switch to a bigger room they said no so we are stuck...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Nic H,

We’re sorry to hear about your disappointment during a recent stay with us. Please know this is not the norm feedback for our hotel. We have the tendency to stay very busy, which is probably why we were unable to move your room type upon request. Despite the aforementioned challenges, we hope you enjoyed your stay and location. And we sincerely hope you reconsider staying with us on your next visit to Downtown Greenville!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stay here a couple of times a year when I am in Greenville for business. The site is great because it is on the river and close to downtown (walking distance to many restaurants and the performing arts center). The hotel is clean and the staff is nice. Not to mention they have recently upgraded their breakfast to have real oatmeal instead of the instant packets with hot water!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Landaflowers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to hear you enjoy our downtown location when you’re in the area for business. We recently added the freshly made oatmeal to our ‘On the House’ Breakfast and it’s been a hit so far. We alternate toppings every day; sliced almonds, cinnamon sugar, maple sugar, mixed nuts and more, and have to-go cups for guests in a rush. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more productive and enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Dennis Miller's performance at the Peace Center in Downtown brought us to Greenville, SC and so we decided to make it a weekend event. We reserved 2 nights at the Hampton Inn Downtown through Hotels.com. The check in was very quick and the young lady checking us in was very courteous. There was ample parking in the adjacent city parking garage ($6 per night). We had a room with 2 queen beds, located close to the elevator. Although, it was a small room, it was very clean and comfortable. The location was great for exploring lovely downtown Greenville. The free breakfast was really good with a great variety of fresh items, including freshly made waffles and scrambled eggs.
There were 2 negatives to our stay but nothing to keep us from staying here again.
The walls were a little thin and at night we could hear conversations in adjacent rooms. Luckily, I remembered the earplugs!
We were not at all impressed with the room service. We were a bit pressed for time due to unexpected traffic on our way from Charlotte, so we decided to get room service instead of a sit down restaurant. My husband placed our order and was told it would take about 45 minutes. About 10 minutes later they called back because our credit card wouldn't go through. They tried several different cards and nothing would go through. After about 5 more minutes of this back and forth we canceled our order and took our chances to find something quick before the show. (which we did, Ocha Tea Bar). While finishing our meal at the Tea Bar they called back and said the card machine wasn't plugged in! Duh!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dbgsmm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed, great review here on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed our ‘On the House’ Complementary Breakfast and prompt, friendly service. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered from ordering from the Order Inn menu. I will definitely follow-up on this to ensure it does not become a trending issue. On the other hand, it’s great you got to experience the O-Cha Tea Bar! If you’re ever in the area again, try their bubble tea; it’s great! Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were attending a concert at the Bi-Lo Center and wanted to be downtown. Greenville downtown area is wonderful filled with great shops, restaurants and micro-breweries. Take your time and wander throughout the downtown area. The park system downtown is a nice peaceful area and very pretty. The Bi-Lo is definitely a nice walk from the hotel. The hotel itself was very clean, nice furnishings and morning breakfast. Parking is underneath the hotel which makes it very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Sherwoodsharks,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you had a great time exploring our downtown area. Walking to the Bilo Center is about a mile walk from our hotel; as you travel down Main Street, you’ll pass tons of restaurants and shops to stop in on your way. Please ask for me on your next visit if you have any questions or are in need of restaurant recommendations. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I wasn't expecting this level of service and comfort at a Hampton Inn! Everything about my 4 night stay was excellent. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, my room was spacious and nice with modern furnishings and a great bathroom. It was like staying at a deluxe hotel but for an economical price. The location is awesome--everything in downtown is walk able, and Reedy Falls park is just across the street (if you are a runner or walker, there is a great running trail here). I only used the free breakfast once, but the offings were plentiful and the area was nice and clean. The staff at this hotel gets SUPER high praise for being so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
PeggyD1959,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We’re glad you enjoyed all the added amenities our property has to offer and our great downtown location. We strive to be the best hotel in downtown Greenville, and your kind words definitely keep us on that track. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon.

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The location is second to none for enjoying downtown Greenville. The room was in perfect condition and bed was extremely comfortable. Parking was easy (slight fee) and walking distance to everything. I would only stay here when visiting downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
DR, thank you for sharing all this great feedback on your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a great time enjoying our convenient downtown location and all the added amenities we offer. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable; whether it be a specific room request or a restaurant recommendation, it would be my pleasure to assist you. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.