We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about my stay was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Everything about my stay was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I wasn't expecting this level of service and comfort at a Hampton Inn! Everything about my 4 night stay was excellent. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, my room was spacious and nice with modern furnishings and a great bathroom. It was like staying at a deluxe hotel but for an economical price. The location is awesome--everything in downtown is walk able, and Reedy Falls park is just across the street (if you are a runner or walker, there is a great running trail here). I only used the free breakfast once, but the offings were plentiful and the area was nice and clean. The staff at this hotel gets SUPER high praise for being so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
PeggyD1959,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We’re glad you enjoyed all the added amenities our property has to offer and our great downtown location. We strive to be the best hotel in downtown Greenville, and your kind words definitely keep us on that track. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon.

Warm Regards,

Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    109
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
163
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The location is second to none for enjoying downtown Greenville. The room was in perfect condition and bed was extremely comfortable. Parking was easy (slight fee) and walking distance to everything. I would only stay here when visiting downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
DR, thank you for sharing all this great feedback on your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a great time enjoying our convenient downtown location and all the added amenities we offer. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable; whether it be a specific room request or a restaurant recommendation, it would be my pleasure to assist you. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I echo all the top reviews here--the location right by the Reedy River is perfect and the hotel itself is top-notch. You are right across the river from the Peace Center. It's an easy walk to the Center, anywhere on Main Street, the park along the river, and great restaurants along Main and the West End. The hotel is much more elegantly furnished than most Hampton Inns and the rooms are huge. All the amenities are there (except the cups in the room are paper, not glass) and the beds are extremely comfortable. Everything was spotless. The breakfast included was, again, nicer than most Hampton Inns: waffles, scrambled eggs, omelets, sausage, even oatmeal, plus lots of fresh fruits, juices, and breads.

A couple of people here have complained about the staff, but we experienced nothing except cordial and prompt service from everyone.

We've stayed at a couple of other hotels in downtown Greenville, but we will go back only to this Hampton Inn--it's an absolute winner. The price was reasonable and the underground parking garage was large, well-lighted, and only $6 a day.

Room Tip: Ask for the river side to get a view of the river and Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Mybagsrpakd, thanks so much for posting a review here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience with others. As you mentioned, once you park your car in the garage, you really don’t need to move it again until check-out. Great restaurants, shops and Falls Park are all right around the corner and within walking distance. Please ask for me on your next visit if you have any questions or are in need of restaurant recommendations. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon!

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We arrived at the Hampton in downtown Greenville and were greeted by Aaron at the front desk. He was very welcoming and and made it clear that the staff would do anything to make our stay a pleasant one. We went up to our room and were greeted by a spacious suite that was VERY clean, something I definitely appreciate. The bed was super comfortable and I loved that the drapes kept the room very dark in the morning. The only thing to be aware of is that there is construction on Camperdown Way so if that bothers you, ask for a room away from that street. It didn't bother us at all but we're used to city noise. A gift bag full of snacks and water was left in our room, as well as a personal note by Miguel Chavez, Guest Service Rep. Very nice touch. I emailed Matt Lew, the Assistant GM, and thanked him for such a nice room. I promptly received a positive reply back.

I have to comment again on Housekeeping. The room and the hotel in general was spotless. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was a plus and the staff in the breakfast area was always very pleasant.

Downtown Greenville is tiny (at least compared to what we're used to) and we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel is located directly on the Reedy River/Falls Park, which is a really great place to hang out and walk around. I highly recommend dinner at Nose Dive. Yes, horrible name for a restaurant but really good food and service. Also loved Lemongrass. Great location, service, and ambiance. If you're in Greenville on Sunday, make sure you check to see what's open as a lot of things are closed.

I did think the room rates were a little high, but I can't complain because we were upgraded to a suite! I definitely recommend this hotel for cleanliness, great staff, and excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
AustinTraveling, Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a lot of fun exploring what downtown Greenville has to offer. I echo your recommendation for Nose Dive, one of Greenville’s newer restaurants (try the Scotch Egg or Maryland Crab Pretzel!) We’re pleased to hear you also enjoyed your accommodations, service and the cleanliness of our property. We strive to be the best hotel in downtown Greenville, and your kind words definitely keep us on that track. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again in Greenville soon.

Warm Regards,
Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Greenville, as it has a great view of the river/downtown and is just a short walk from great restaurants and shops. I had a fantastic corner room overlooking the river -- wish I hadn't been working so I could've enjoyed it more! My only complaint is with the front desk, as the staff members I spoke to were rather rude on a couple of occasions (when I called about a malfunctioning coffee maker in the room, and when I called to request a later check-out time). Despite the snobby staff, I would still stay here again, as the hotel is fairly new and very clean.

Room Tip: Riverfront views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
jwt85,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re very disappointed to hear about the negative experience with our front desk staff. We can assure you this is not the norm feedback we hear, and will be looking into this to ensure it does not become a trending issue at our hotel. We’re glad to hear that despite this inconvenience, you were able to enjoy your stay and experience what downtown Greenville has to offer! Please feel free to contact us at your convenience if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the Spinx Run Marathon. The check-in staff was very prompt & courteous and honored our request for a 2 pm checkout. The room was spotless and the cleaning staff was always pleasant. The location of the hotel is beautiful and right next to the park and river. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and so was the staff. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room, high floor has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Laura S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We hope everything went well with the marathon despite the cold weather this weekend! We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was a great stay at this hotel. located downtown Greenville, SC, it is within walking distance to many great restaurants. Very clean rooms, fitness room was great, very modern equipment. Staff was very helpful and very friendly. The beds were very comfortable. I would stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Located near great places to Dine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnRiverPlace, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Eastcoacpl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and got to enjoy all the things that downtown Greenville has to offer. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Greenville and wish you safe travels until then.

Aaron Zaleski
Guest Service Manager
(864) 271 - 8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.