We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Greenville
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“eehhh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I work for a hotel, so I would say my expectations are high and low if that makes sense. I expect to be treated just like a regular guest but Im also one that doesnt freak out like I know how people do when there is an error of some sort unless its major. However I feel like the only true benefit to this hotel is just that its downtown. We would stay here again based on the location of hotel. But as another review had stated the front desk was not that friendly upon checkin. The only member of staff that I felt went above and beyond was a younger black gentleman, I couldnt tell if he was maintenance or if he worked in house. I mean the rooms were nice, and it definitely served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Razorback1430, we’re sorry to hear about your disappointment during a recent stay with us. Please know this is not the norm feedback for our hotel. And we look forward to showing you how friendly and accommodating our staff are upon your next trip to Greenville. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    109
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
132
162
19
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to take a quick getaway. We love staying in downtown and Greenville has a very nice, clean downtown area. We were able to walk to a variety of restaurants and shopping. We walked to a Greenville Drive baseball game in their new field. The hotel is wonderful! It is very clean, beautiful, and well-kept. The staff was very helpful and quickly resolved a problem we had with our reservation that we made through Hotels.com. Breakfast was great! We had an amazing time and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Christinldrn, Thank you for taking the time to leave such glowing feedback on TripAdvisor! We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to catch a Greenville Drive game while in town. The staff definitely looks forward to seeing you on future trips to Downtown Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My friend booked this hotel to come back to after a night out on the town in downtown Greenville. We were already treated a little rude upon check in because we were 21-year-old's renting the room (definitely got the impression we weren't really welcome because we were probably younger than most of their guests). After coming back to the hotel we went straight up to our rooms and turned on the TV and started snacking on some food we had brought with us. Within a matter of minutes a cop was at our door telling us that we were being too loud. We turned off the television and immediately got a call from the front desk telling us that we were being too loud. We apologized and told her that we had turned the TV off. The front desk lady and the cop ended up coming up to our room two more times in a short amount of time telling us we were still too loud. (Obviously the hotel walls must be paper-thin). Finally, I asked her what she suggested we do to be quieter, since we had already turned off the TV, and she made a snide remark about whispering. I didn't realize that we had paid $200 for a hotel room in which we couldn't watch TV or talk in past midnight. She also said that one hotel room had called and complained about our room 5 times and that it was "hotel policy" to kick someone out if they get 6 complaints from a room. I asked to see a copy of this hotel policy and she said that they didn't have one?? Less than 5 minutes later they came up to the room saying that they had gotten a 6th complaint and we had to leave. We literally had to pack up our stuff in the middle of the night and leave even though we had no where to go and were 21 year old girls in downtown Greenville. I even asked if we could be moved to another room where our neighbors might be a little less sensitive to TV noise and she said no. We got NO REFUND and they were not willing to work with us what so ever. I feel like as soon as we checked in and saw that we were a group of 21-year-old girls they were already planning on getting rid of us.

One of the girls in he group even suggested staying at the Hampton in because her sister had her bachelorette party there a couple weeks before. It is obvious that if you are below the age of 35 you are not welcome at this hotel. They will simply take your money and get rid of you.

If you have kids, watch TV to fall asleep, plan on being awake past 10 p.m., or don't feel like being treated like a second rate citizen (even though you're paying as much as everyone else) I would suggest staying at a different hotel in downtown Greenville.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
JSD21990, Being a downtown location that caters to business and leisure, our hotel sees guests of all ages staying here at any given time; in no way do we categorize and treat one guest differently than another simply because of their age. In regards to the challenges with noise, our goal is to ensure all guests are comfortably enjoying their stay, which includes following through and taking proper steps and procedures on noise complaints from other guests. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you're traveling to Greenville, this is the place to stay! Its location is excellent, the staff friendly & helpful, the breakfast yummy & plentiful, and the rooms quite comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
PittsHQ, we’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for sharing the great feedback here on Tripadvisor! We hope you come to stay with us again and get to explore more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer!

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed here to attend the "Artisphere". Location was perfect...close to restaurants & Falls Park.
Hotel check-in was a breeze, as was check out. Rooms were very comfortable & clean. Complimentary breakfast had quite a good selection to choose from. Staff was very pleasant.
My son-in-law stays here for business & highly recommended this hotel.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Berkleyhub, thank you so much for the great feedback and pictures! We always look forward to the great people and culture that Artisphere brings to our hotel. It’s a very special time of year that brings a lot of life and energy to our vibrant downtown area. We truly look forward to accommodating you for the 2012 Artisphere and any other future trips to Greenville! Thank you again for your kind words.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This has a great location and the staff are great. The rooms are nice and the breakfast area is well done. The only issue is the parking. It is below the hotel in a city garage and on both times we tried to leave with the room key access, it did not work. They said this occurs a lot and they are not in control of the garage. This mars an excellent rating. Restaurants are very close and the Michelin store nearby is very unique.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Quicktraveler91, we’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for the great feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed here for work. I arrived early enough to go out and walk. It is right on the river and there were lots of walkers, families, young people, dogs, etc. It was very pretty area and I felt very safe. I especially liked the room because I had a balcony with a good view, 2 chairs, fresh air! Breakfast was included in the rate and it was good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaleski, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
ParkandGo, thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you were able to squeeze in some leisure time despite being here on business, and hope you get to explore more of what Downtown Greenville has to offer on your next stay with us.

Warm Regards, Aaron Zaleski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 RiverPlace, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.