We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely busy, very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tupelo Honey Cafe

Tupelo Honey Cafe
1 North Main Street, Suite T, Greenville, SC 29601
+1 864-451-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 725 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: What constitutes "New South Flavors?" For us, it is begins with reverence for those time-honored Southern dishes. Served up by wonderful home cooks for years. We respect the freshness, the flavors and the food itself. But we like to jazz it up a little, add something deliciously unexpected to delight your palate. Our interpretation of traditional Southern fare is creative, inventive and satisfyingly scrumptious. Cheers to New South Flavor!
North Carolina
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Extremely busy, very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Staff is well trained to move customers along. The food is good and servings are generous. It is kid friendly. The noise volume makes conversation impossible.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    77
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy Biscuits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hard to find, but when you do you'll be pleased. Great brunch food and some of the best biscuits I've ever had. The sweet potato pancake is delicious, especially if you have a sweet tooth. Be warned, they start you with those yummy biscuits and the entree portions are huge; but they have adorable little boxes and bags to take things home in!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely time, unique restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited this past weekend at the Greenville Tupelo Honey. It was really nice and had dinner on the back deck. It was so lovely, then out of no where the bottom fell out of the sky and it poured on us. We went inside and the waiters and staff were very accommodating to us and as soon as we got a table inside, we had our food. It was so nice to experience both outside and inside. We loved both and would go again.

The accents in the restaurant is very unique. There is a coffee mug chandelier in the gallery and unique pulley fan system. It is just different than anything in Downtown.

The food was good. I mean it was not stellar, but it was good. It was out very quickly and our service was wonderful. I had the shrimp and grits and they were very spicy and my husband had the country fried chicken and it was also okay for the price. It is a tad bit expensive for country style food in the south.

I loved the restaurant's feel and everyone seemed happy, even the staff that got rained on. We will visit again in a few months.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tupelo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I had dinner there today after church today. There was a 25 min wait inside, but immediate seating outside (which is where we wanted to sit anyway).
Our server was one of the happiest people that I've had the pleasure of being served by, unfortunately I can not remember her name. -
I had the Shoo Mercy Grilled Cheese sandwich with a cup of cheese onion soup. My wife had the breakfast pie and goat cheese grits.
We were served each a homemade biscuit with fresh wild blueberry jam - delicious!
My wife' loved her meal but could only eat half - very large servings and the biscuit didn't help.
My Shoo Mercy Grilled Cheese sandwich has there different cheeses, a slice of Canadian bacon, two strips of maple bacon and believe it or not - a slice of fried green tomato. The cheese onion soup was very light - it was like a lightly cheesy french onion soup. Both dishes were outstanding! I could only eat half my sandwich, but all the soup.
We were both very full afterwards. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb service and good food. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Been to the one in Asheville which was more rustic but the food here is similar and the service is superb. There are so many competitors in the "new south" category and so many great restaurants in Greenville but this one is worth a visit. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tupelo Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tupelo Honey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.