We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat !!!.....and some sides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacon Brothers Public House

Bacon Brothers Public House
3620 Pelham Road, Greenville, SC 29651
+1 864-297-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacon Brothers Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 789 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pelham Road
Description: Bacon Bros. Public House is an innovative gastropub. The seasonally driven menu of the East Greenville restaurant offers a delicious selection of small plates and entrees, with items priced for all diners. The decor is warm and rustic with a dining room that features reused wooden pallets, an element that compliments Chef Gray's passion for sustainability. Diners can catch a glimpse of the curing chamber, where menu items like the Bastardo Salami, Coppa Ham and Bresola are seasoned and aged to perfection. Simply put, Bacon Bros. Is a great place for a relaxed dining experience with friends and family, or to meet for small bites and a craft beer or glass of wine after work.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Meat !!!.....and some sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We somehow missed hearing about this place until recently and decided to give it a try with another couple. We went on a Tuesday and the place was packed ! Thankfully, the weather was nice so we took advantage of the outside dining. It's very laid back, picnic tables outside. Our waiter, Drew, was the best ! Very good service and great sense of humor. If you like meat this is your place, though the sides are good too. We started with the pimento cheese jar. To die for !! I am a huge fan of pimento cheese and so glad we tried it. For our entree's we had the brisket, the short ribs and the shrimp and grits. All very good. Our plates were filled with more than enough meat and then the sides. Both the baked beans and the butter beans were good. The onion rings are very good. As well as the squash casserole. They served different sauces and ketchups and all were tasty. Everything was presented well and piping hot. To finish our meal we decided to share the blackberry and peach cobbler between the 4 of us. A great way to end the meal. Plenty of fruit, not too sweet and the top crust was very nice. Served HOT in a small skillet and topped with ice cream. It's not a cheap place but definitely worth dining here from time to time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and more meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not the place for a vegetarian but if you like locally made products, good beer with the meat and a fun place to hang out,I recommend. The sampler platter for dinner was great. Best chicken ever, VG pulled pork, sausage good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OMG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Pork pork everywhere! They smoke and cure their own, in house. Everything is locally sourced. You must try the pimento cheese with bacon jam. This is where I take all the out of town guests. Great unusual choices. Yum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“If you are in the mood for meat...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A very hip restaurant, has a pub/restaurant/bar style atmosphere. BUT it is located in a strip mall in the suburbs. I feel this restaurant really belongs downtown. Lots of various meats offered, all of which they have cured, aged, and smoked in-house. It is tasty, but the portions (especially the side dishes) are small in quantity, and the prices seem above average for this area. Not a place I will go to regularly, but maybe every so often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Carnivorous gluttony.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you count your calories, avoid salt, or exhibit vegetarian tendencies avoid this place. If you, however, like smoked meats, cured hams, and fat dripping burgers prepaid to be indulged. Appetizers alone are worth the visit.

We made our reservation over the phone, showed up at 7 pm and were seated promptly. Ambiance affords little privacy. Nevertheless, the restaurant wasn't loud. We could easily carry on our conversation.

We decided to start with some appetizers. Servings were so generous, that we never advanced to main course. First we shared a meat board (lonzino, pancetta, country pate, head cheese, and duck prosciutto.) Head cheese would delight any lover of tongue. Pancetta was full of delicate lardon. Our server brought us a large basket of toast, bread, and biscuits. I would go back for biscuits alone. Fried pickles were crisp and cooked with bacon; probably one of the best I ever tried. Deviled eggs were topped with ham. We were getting full and decided on an order of Smoked Wings. They came four to an order and were quite spicy. If you prefer smokiness over heat, you might be disappointed.

We also had a few drinks. The Older (sic!) Fashioned would likely please anyone who likes bourbon. My wife had a glass of Red Blend wine and found it very good for the price.
Service was very good, attentive but not intrusive. Despite not ordering the main course, we lingers almost two hours and never felt rushed. At the end of our meal, the manager came to our table apologizing for the delay in serving the smoked wings. He was trying to take them of our bill. We were so pleased with our dining experience that we insisted to pay.

When we go back to Greenville, we will surely visit the BBPH. I want to try their pulled pork.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacon Brothers Public House also viewed

 

Been to Bacon Brothers Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacon Brothers Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.