We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Upscale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yap

Yap
12 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601
+1 864-263-3561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 726 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Description: Yap! is a new restaurant in the heart of downtown Greenville specializing in American cuisine. Open seven days a week for lunch and dinner.,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Affordable Upscale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were impressed by the $5 cocktails and reasonable prices that allowed us to get the extras. The food was well prepared, I had the steak special served with shiitake mushroom risotto in a light curry sauce. I was not sure I would like the curry on steak but it was delicious. The only comment would be the staff were a little too hovering. I appreciate prompt service but I don't need to be interrupted every 5 minutes to see how it is going.
The food and price was definitely worth putting this on the list of stops in Greenville when we return.
The

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    19
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Never had Malaysian food, Colby one of the employees talked us into it as we were perusing the menu outside and we are so happy we followed his advice. I had a chicken dish with rice and cucumber salad and my husband had the Malaysian spice steak. Keisha our server said it was the best steak in town and she did not lie. Very good food, good service, nice ambiance. We look forward to returning again and again! Oh and our daughter loved the grilled chicken and mixed grill veggies, she cleared her plate. The prices too are fantastic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service!! A must try!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

You will love the food! First time trying Malaysian food and it was great! Will definitely come back!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband loves Malaysian food and since it was his birthday he got to pick the restaurant. I had the curry and it was excellent. My husband had a chicken and noodle dish which was good but could have used a little more flavor. As a general rule we never have dessert at Asian restaurants. However they have a chocolate,orange CREME brûlée style dessert that was fantastic. The service was very good, and the ambiance was nice. We will defiantly go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Meal I have had in Greenvile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The ambiance is wonderful, the food even better. Service was impeccable (The owner came out and talked to us). It takes an leap of faith to try Malaysian cuisine on the surface. YAP makes it easy by americanizing the dishes a bit. I highly recommend this eatery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yap also viewed

 

Been to Yap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.