We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchemy Comedy Theater

Alchemy Comedy Theater
1 East Coffee Street, Greenville, SC 29601
864-256-1467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 46 Attractions in Greenville
Type: Comedy Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: al·che·my [ˈal-kə-mē] a power or process of transforming something common into something specialAlchemy Comedy Theater is Greenville’s only weekly improv comedy show. All shows are Friday nights at 8:00pm ($5) and 9:30pm ($8). Tickets can be purchased online or at the door with cash or credit. Street parking is available as well as several nearby parking garages. For a full list of upcoming shows check the calendar.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Funny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I love Alchemy! They have regular improv shows 4 times a week and sometimes have stand-up shows. Its the best comedy in the greenville area for sure. Its a great place to take friends after diner or before going out. The shows are so affordable too! 8-10 per ticket.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Neat Underground Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Alchemy is located below ground in downtown Greenville in a coffee shop called Coffee Underground. The coffee shop is pricey and offers some nice desserts. This is a nice place to go when you want some laughs and maybe some coffee and dessert. Parking is a challenge, but we found a paid parking lot within a block down the street from the coffee shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great idea for something fun to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was really impressed with the atmosphere of the underground theater and very impressed with the level of talent in the shows. I would really recommend this to someone looking for a place to take a date or to just see local improv theater. The price was right too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Growing Staple in Greenville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Alchemy Improv always pleases. Don't waste money on movie theaters. Instead come to Coffee Underground and watch Alchemy Improv Comedy and you'll get a way better value for your money. Their ideas are always new and fresh. I walk out of every show satisfied and plan to come back as often as I can.

What's even better is that at the end of every show, the hosts reminds the audience that they can take classes and learn how to perform improv just like them!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hilarious show in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love Alchemy improv shows! I can be hard to please when it comes to comedy, but I can always count on getting a good laugh on Friday nights! This is a great way to entertain friends and guests in the heart of beautiful downtown Greenville, and with drinks and food available at the venue, we'll often stay for both the 8 and 9:30 shows.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy Comedy Theater also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy Comedy Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchemy Comedy Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.