We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen

Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen
631 South Main Street, Greenville, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #359 of 759 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went looking for great po'boys but found average nothing special. Not sure if I just have high expectations but was not impressed. Red beans & rice were also average.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    16
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Really neat bar, very good food, has some great entertainment on the weekends. Enjoy going very much!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“For the Cajun in us all!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Oh my, oh my, oh my. I've eaten here a great deal and LOVE the food. Hands down the best grilled oysters on the planet. The gator can be hit and miss, but the oysters are always spectacular. The red beans and rice ettouffe', are great as well. My favorite? Shrimp and grits!! YUUUUMMMMY!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The seating is very nice and causal. I am from Louisiana. The 3 cups (gumbo, etouffee, and red beans and rice) were authentically excellent. Nice atmosphere and a sure hit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great place to duck in out of the rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I were walking on Main St in beautiful downtown Greenville when rain went from light showers to drenching! We saw Ford's Oyster House across the street and decided to duck in out of the rain for soup and salad. We arrived just past brunch and were able to pick a booth at the front window. Since we planned to have an early dinner, Larry and I decided to keep our brunch to a minimum, so I ordered the Iceberg "Blues" Wedge ($6) and a cup of Chicken & Andouille Gumbo ($4), while Larry had a bowl of Seafood Gumbo ($8). The iceberg wedge was cool, crisp and lightly drenched with a buttermilk bleu cheese dressing, extra crumbles of bleu and fresh, crispy bacon pieces with tomato slices and salad greens on the side. It was DELICIOUS and I felt a fine value for $6. My cup of chicken & andouille sausage gumbo: the roux was quite flavorful, however there was only 1 small bite of andouille and too much 'cubed' chicken, with a large dollop of rice. Larry's seafood (with andouille) gumbo was tastier, yet still lacked more than one teeny bite of the promised andouille, plentiful on the baby shrimp, though! After our brunch, our attentive and pleasant server, Ronni, inquired if we'd care for one of their special draft beers. We could hear there was live acoustic guitar and singing in the bar at the back of the restaurant, so we ordered a draft (Harpoon Summer Beer?) that had a clean, crisp, light citrus taste, served with a slice of orange. Enjoyed the service, the sounds, the food, the beer and the all-around fun experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fords Oyster House and Cajun Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.