We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small zoo for profit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Greenville Zoo

Greenville Zoo
150 Cleveland Park Drive, Greenville, SC 29601
(864) 467-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 86 things to do in Greenville
Type: Other
Attraction details
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small zoo for profit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The cost of admission is too much for what you get. Very few people would take more than a couple hours to see the whole zoo.
Many of the animals are endangered which leads me to believe the zoo obtains much of its funding from government grants.
The staff are less than cordial.
The orangoutang exhibit is especially unsettling. The zoo made a serious design oversight when planting the orangoutang exhibit with fescue. Orangoutangs eat plants and will eat the grass which is unhealthy for them. Each time I have been to the zoo, at least one of the orangoutangs has been vomiting up the unnatural grass.
The cages are small and uninteresting. One of the elephants has died recently.
I'm not against zoos, but would strongly suggest visiting Columbia, SC, Asheboro, NC, or Knoxville, TN before this one, all of which are much better.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    134
    70
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I spent some time in January 2014 visiting the local zoo. Cute little zoo. Easily accessible, fair cost, very clean and friendly staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small satisfying zoo for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have frequent this zoo many time over the last five years. They are always added new animals and events are always top notch. Worth the minimum entry fee charged and very close to downtown Greenville.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Twp., NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sad zoo.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This zoo is an anomaly that obviously brings in big money to those running it. I'm not saying that I saw anything abusive or unclean. I'm saying that this is the kind of zoo that our grandparents visited 75 years ago. All of the animals are in relatively small cages/enclosures of some sort - they are not in anything remotely like their natural habitats. The best that can be said about this zoo is that it's an interesting display of a handful of animals in captivity. Just animals in captivity.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Terrific place to take kids, and we adults enjoyed a stroll thru all the exhibits too. The howler monkeys put on quite a show for us.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenville Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Greenville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenville Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.