We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small satisfying zoo for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenville Zoo

Greenville Zoo
150 Cleveland Park Drive, Greenville, SC 29601
(864) 467-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 30 Attractions in Greenville
Type: Other, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small satisfying zoo for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have frequent this zoo many time over the last five years. They are always added new animals and events are always top notch. Worth the minimum entry fee charged and very close to downtown Greenville.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    123
    60
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria Twp., NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sad zoo.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This zoo is an anomaly that obviously brings in big money to those running it. I'm not saying that I saw anything abusive or unclean. I'm saying that this is the kind of zoo that our grandparents visited 75 years ago. All of the animals are in relatively small cages/enclosures of some sort - they are not in anything remotely like their natural habitats. The best that can be said about this zoo is that it's an interesting display of a handful of animals in captivity. Just animals in captivity.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Terrific place to take kids, and we adults enjoyed a stroll thru all the exhibits too. The howler monkeys put on quite a show for us.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This zoo is fantastic ... lots to see, reasonably priced, next to Cleveland Park playground, near rockin' downtown. For a small zoo, well worth the trip, and easily covered in an hour or two. Bring a picnic. Nice little gift shop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Greenville Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is the perfect size zoo for a family that has small children. Big enough to see without little ones tiring out and becoming cranky. We average at least one trip a week. Our son never tires of the zoo and there are tons of family activities, educational events, and neat animals.

If you are a local I highly recommend the membership. It's worth the money and pays for itself quickly. Plus several places nation wide accept the membership for free admission or discounts.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenville Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Greenville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenville Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.