We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Pubs in town!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of hans and franz biergarten

hans and franz biergarten
3124 S. Hwy 14, Greenville, SC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 761 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the Best Pubs in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My co-workers and I LOVE this place! The Biergarten is a great place to sit and have a beer or wine from their great selection - add an appetizer of pork sliders or sauerkraut balls, or a large pretzel and you're all set! You can even enjoy the patio in the winter - they've gone all out to tent it in, and blow in heat. Highly recommend this!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

To be honest, we have passed this place numerous times and never stopped to check it out. Well, we took a chance this evening and was pleasantly surprised! We immediately liked the cozy German beer pub type of atmosphere. This is a great place to sit at a table with friends and enjoy a beer or two before ordering dinner. Our waitress was very pleasant; even though she was busy waiting on several other customers, she always came back to check on us.

I ordered off of their winter menu and was not disappointed. Schweine haxen (pork shank) used to be a favorite of mine when we lived in Austria. I'm glad to have found a place that knows how to serve this dish! The meat fell off the bone and was so tender and flavorful. The gravy clinched the deal...I felt like I was back in Austria or Germany. My side dishes of bratkartoffel (fried potatoes) and sauerkraut were also very authentic. My husband ordered wurst with cucumber salad and French fries. He was very pleased with his meal. The French fries were great and he also liked the different sauces to use with the wurst and the fries.

We give a restaurant extra points when the owner stops by to chat. Joerg is very friendly and made us feel welcomed. If you are hunting for a comfortable place for good German food and good beer...Hans and Franz Biergarten is it. (A nice plus is that they had happy hour prices for 4 or 5 German draft beers. At $5.00 for 17 ounces of beer in a large glass stein, well...you can't beat the price!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Seems to have changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place used to be great, but something has changed and I guess it is probably the owners??? We always like to sit out on the patio and the place still gets very busy during the warmer weather, but it seems like they are focusing less on the German food and beer, and more on international dishes and drinks. More recently they have got the staff dressing in awful [supposed to look like] German outfits. They either hate them or they are just not happy at work.

Its a shame as they always used to be nice people with above average food, but not so much these days.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great German Style 'beerkeller' in SC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you like German beer and food with a German twist then this is a great place to visit. We have had several visits and enjoyed the music and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great German food and drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

They have many choices on the menu. Food was very good. Everyone in my party enjoyed the food. Good beer selection on tap and bottles. German beer of course. Nicely decorated in a historical building. Parking is limited. A full parking lot doesn't mean there isn't room for you inside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed hans and franz biergarten also viewed

 

Been to hans and franz biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hans and franz biergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.