We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Poinsett, Greenville to your Saves list
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Arriving by car we were greeted right away at the driveway. For a low daily rate we parked in parking garage just behind the hotel. The hotel is quite large but we felt right at home. We were always greeted with a smile entering or leaving the hotel. We used the small hotel-bar in the lobby a couple of times where we were having a great time. The bar staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, and not intrusive. Room service was great. We had a room with two queen beds which was very nice and large enough to feel very comfortable. It had enough storage and closet space as well as a good sized desk and a comfortable "reading"-chair. There was a coffee/tea-maker which we used a lot and bottled water was offered too. The bathroom was very clean and modern but the sink only offered little space to put anything there. For my husband it was enough but I had to store most of my toiletries in a drawer of the bedroom. This is a problem in most hotels! For one night it would have been enough but we stayed for five wonderful nights. And still - I will come back to this hotel. Did I mention the great breakfast they offer in the hotel restaurant and the very beautiful architectural details of the hotel! Great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Westin Poinsett! Our team always appreciates when their work is being recognized, therefore, thank you for highlighting the friendly and knowledgeable service you received. As to our breakfast buffet, our omelet station is always popular as well as our large offer of Westin Superfood items, that are of especially high nutritional value. Since we are the only historic four diamond hotel in downtown Greenville we tried to keep the historical integrity of the public space while providing modern amenities in all of our guest rooms. Basically, we want to offer you the best of both worlds. Thank you again for staying with us and talking so highly of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    171
    64
    28
    11
See reviews for
143
261
42
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Who would imagine that one could find so much enjoyment at 'home'...my dear husband and I chose to stay in town for our Anniversary, and chose to spend it at the Westin Poinsett. This was the best choice ever. Everything was was superb, especially the services of the concierge, who took great care to see that all of our needs were met. Ms Smith made the best recommendations for restaurants. The entire staff was so personable and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was well presented, with healthy and delicious choices, and an amazing omelet cook. We know we will "honeymoon" there again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
First, Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing the Westin Poinsett for your special occasion “staycation”! An endorsement from a local resident is especially important to us, as the historic Westin Poinsett Hotel has played a crucial part in Greenville’s revitalization success. We are so glad our hotel finds your approval. Our concierge Janice was delighted to hear how helpful you found her recommendations! She has been with us since our re-opening 14 years ago and is indeed very knowledgeable. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast in the Spoonbread Restaurant, we are constantly adding new Superfoods to the offer in order to provide you with a wide range of great tasting and healthy options. Don’t wait another year for your next visit; perhaps a show at the Peace Center with dinner and a beverage in our piano Lounge prior, will be “reason” enough to join us again. Just give Janice a call; she will gladly help with the planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

After staying the first night of our trip at the Westin, we knew we would return, just not as quick as we did. We ended up spending the last two days in South Carolina, just so we could stay at the Westin, soaking up the luxury and ideal location in the heart of downtown Greenville. All the staff was very helpful, especially Jennifer at the front desk. She made us feel comfortable in a city new to us. The rooms were clean and the furnishings have a nice flair and feel. The bathrooms,large with marble floors, were nicely appointed. We are looking for an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: The only noise we heard was from the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett (several times!) We were sincerely impressed that you changed your travel plans in order to spend two more days with us. Jennifer was told about your kind remarks and she was so happy to make you feel comfortable in a city that was new to you! We continuously update our guest rooms and we are pleased to hear that you approve of their style as well as condition. Since you became a “Greenville fan”, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon; no excuse needed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night of our honeymoon to the USA. We were impressed with the hotel from start to finish. The location is amazing for the wonderful amenities of Greenville (which we absolutely loved), the valet parking and check-in were very efficient, and our room was well appointed. We would not hesitate to stay again if we ever return to Greenville (and I very much hope we do).

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Joe,
Congratulations on your marriage and thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett for your honeymoon! Our bellmen and front desk agents were delighted to hear your nice comments. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our award winning city soon, maybe for your first anniversary? Our very best wishes to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at the fabulous Westin Poinsett in the heart of downtown Greenville. We visited our son and future daughter in-law as we were working on wedding planning for their wedding next September. Mike Graves, new F&B Manager, was our "host" this weekend as he and our son are close friends. He single handedly made sure the weekend was perfect and the entire staff could not have been nicer toward us during our stay. We met with Kelly, the Westin Poinsett Wedding Director, who was also very helpful! We will certainly have a block of rooms for our son's wedding at the Westin during the wedding weekend as we know the staff and hotel are a perfect fit for us, our family and our friends. We could not say enough great things about this hotel, you would not be disappointed if you stay here. Thanks again Mike and Westin team, we look forward to seeing yall again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Carol,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Westin Poinsett! We are so excited our staff has already made you feel like part of our family here! Kelley Moore our wedding Director is ready to help you and your future in-laws plan for a block of rooms during the wedding festivities. Thank you for recognizing Mike Graves, our Food and Beverage Manager for being your caring “host”. Our entire staff will work hard to make sure your stay is perfect from start to finish! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Westin Poinsett is a nice hotel in a great location. It is a little dated, but the room was clean and quiet. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be larger. Request a room with a Main St. view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review of the Westin Poinsett! Our staff works hard to make sure you receive everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our hotel opened in 1925 but has been fully renovated several years ago and is being updated constantly, offering modern amenities such as complimentary fiber optic high speed internet or flat screen TVs receiving 95 channels (most in HD). We are pleased to hear that our staff was very accommodating, which can make a big difference in the quality of a hotel experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

For six year in a row we have used the Westin to room 40 to 60 customers for a seminar we hold. They provide a great experience for them and us. Service is outstanding from every angle. The breakfast, shuttle, and front desk staff is outstanding. Our customers experience luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear David,
Thank you so much for choosing the Westin Poinsett to host your Seminars! Our sales team and banquet staff are grateful for your recognition and will continue to work hard to make sure your company’s events go smoothly from booking to departure. We are glad to offer your customers a luxury experience while keeping the price reasonable. We all look forward to welcoming you and your team back next year. Thank you for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 South Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#7 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.